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Executive Summary 

The Rhode Island Office of the Health Insurance Commissioner (OHIC) developed this 

mandated benefits report at the direction of the Legislature.1  According to at least one report, 

Rhode Island leads all states in the number of mandated benefits required, including benefit, 

provider and coverage mandates.2  Today, Rhode Island does not have a specific process in 

place to review current or proposed mandated benefits on an ongoing basis. 

Per the legislation the report covers the following topics: 

 the impact of the current mandated benefits on cost of health insurance for fully insured 
employers; 

 current provider and insurer mandates that are unnecessary and/or duplicative due to 
existing care standards; 

 a state-by-state comparison of health insurance mandates and the extent to which Rhode 
Island mandates exceeds other states’ benefits; and, 

 recommendations for amendment to the existing mandated benefits based on this 
review. 

 
The objective of this report is to perform a preliminary analysis of Rhode Island’s current 
mandates and most importantly, to propose a new in-depth process for both retrospective and 
prospective review of mandates.  Both current and new mandates should be based in sound 
clinical and scientific medical evidence and should balance cost and benefit.  
 
The State contracted with Bailit Health Purchasing, LLC to conduct this examination.  To 
conserve resources, the State did not use an actuary for the work described in this report.  
Instead, costs of each mandate were estimated by using data provided by carriers in Rhode 
Island or by looking at cost estimates completed by other states.  In particular, estimates from 
Massachusetts and Connecticut are used since they are neighboring states with similar 
populations, mandates, and insurance environments.  It is important to note that there are 
sometimes differences among states not only in the specific details of the mandate but also in 
the prevalence of disease and cost of provider services.  Therefore, the estimates provided in 
this report should only be used to give policymakers a sense of the potential cost of a given 
mandate in Rhode Island. 
 
Many of the States’ mandated benefits are also federally-mandated benefits or fall within the 
Essential Health Benefit (EHB) construct.  The estimated cost of these mandated benefits equal 
$50.16, or approximately 11% of the monthly premium.   Whether or not mandated by the State, 
these benefits are likely to be included in health coverage.   Provider benefits are also likely to 
be maintained where the State’s provider mandates are generally focused on providing 
alternative providers that are typically of lower cost.   
 

                                                           
1
 Section 6m of the Rhode Island Health Reform Act of 2013.   

2 See Health Insurance Mandates in the States 2012, Council for Affordable Health Insurance (CAHI) 
2013. 



3 
 

There are a smaller number of mandates that appear to be outside of an EHB category.  With 
these mandates, the State has a greater ability to impact whether the service is included in 
coverage, and the State has a direct cost concern in that the State may be responsible for the cost 
of any mandated benefits that fall outside of one of the ten EHB categories once the EHB 
definition is finalized. It is estimated that these mandates cost $8.36 pmpm, or approximately 
2% of the premiums within the State, with the off-label use of prescription drugs, infertility and 
home health mandates making up the majority of those costs. By way of reference, 2% of 
written premium for the three major health insurance companies in calendar year 2012 
($1,305,410,760) was $26,108,215. 
 
Based on our research of other state review processes, the report lays out a comprehensive set of 
criteria and a process to guide the State in its ongoing review of mandated benefits that 
incorporates the Affordable Care Act’s (ACA’s) EHB requirements,3 and considers additional 
mandates in a manner that balances breadth of coverage with an individual’s ability to afford 
that coverage. As recommended, the process includes a periodic retrospective review of current 
mandates and a prospective review of all newly proposed mandates.  The process designates 
OHIC, an independent agency reporting directly to the governor, as the official reviewer of 
mandates, with input from other state agencies including but not limited to, EOHHS, Medicaid, 
DOH, BHDDH, the Lt. Governor’s Office, and HSRI, and directs the Office to consider the 
medical efficacy, cost, and social impact of each mandate, and provide the Legislature with 
recommendations on whether to maintain or accept new mandates.   The process further calls 
for proponents of particular mandates to provide supportive documentation and propose 
potential savings to fund the cost of any proposed mandate.  
 
Like many other states, a number of Rhode Island's mandates were established 10-20 years ago 
and have not been revisited even though standards of care for medical treatment, and federal 
law have evolved. Conducting periodic, standardized reviews of all mandated benefits, in 
addition to the review of newly proposed mandates, is important and will provide the State 
with a greater understanding of whether and how these benefits contribute to the overall health 
policy goals of the State aimed at improving both the quality and efficiency of care.  
  

                                                           
3 For 2014 and 2015, EHBs are state defined based on the state’s selection of a benchmark plan, and may 
also include state-mandated benefits to the extent included in the benchmark plan, whether or not they 
would fall into one of the essential health benefits categories.  When referring to EHBs here, however, we 
are referring to the ten categories of benefits included within the ACA.  This proposal assumes that the 
ten categories will be further defined over time to be consistent nationally.  However, given that this 
approach is not yet in place and may not be implemented, it will be important for Rhode Island to 
consider over time what the ultimate impact of EHBs is on Rhode Island’s review of state mandated 
benefits.  Also it is important to remember that the EHB construct is applicable in the individual and 
small group marketplace.  Until 2016, that includes employers with 50 or fewer employees.  Beginning in 
2016, it will include employers with 100 or fewer employees.  However, there will always be some fully 
insured employers with more than 100 employees or self-insured employees that are not required to meet 
the EHB requirements (though the insurance needs to be comprehensive enough to count as creditable 
coverage).  
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I. Introduction 

The Rhode Island Legislature directed the Office of the Health Insurance Commissioner (OHIC) 
to complete a study of the State’s mandated benefits.   Specifically, the legislation requires the 
State to submit a report by April 1, 2014 that includes: 
 

 the impact of the current mandated benefits on cost of health insurance for fully insured 
employers; 

 current provider and insurer mandates that are unnecessary and/or duplicative due to 
existing care standards; 

 a state-by-state comparison of health insurance mandates and the extent to which Rhode 
Island mandates exceeds other states’ benefits; and, 

 recommendations for amendment to the existing mandated benefits based on this 
review. 

 
All states have laws mandating that specific health care benefits be included in insurance 
coverage.  State mandated benefits can serve to make health care coverage more comprehensive 
in the fully insured small group and individual insurance markets, but they also can increase 
the cost of coverage.  This report will provide the Legislature with a clear understanding of how 
Rhode Island’s current mandated benefits compare to those required in other states, and the 
estimated impact of those benefits on both access to care and the cost of care.  This report 
provides recommendations for the Legislature’s consideration on how to consider mandated 
benefits on an ongoing basis. 
 
Given the implementation of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act (ACA) and its 
requirements for provision of Essential Health Benefits (EHBs), now is a particularly good time 
to review the State’s mandated benefits and to consider how to frame current and new 
proposals for mandated benefits.   The ACA requires that all individual and small group plans4, 
both in and out of the Exchange offer ten “essential health benefits”5 including:  
 

 ambulatory patient services  

 emergency services  

 hospitalization  

 laboratory services  

 maternity and newborn care  

 mental health & substance use disorder services, including behavioral health services  

 pediatric services, including oral and vision care  

 prescription drugs  

 preventive and wellness services and chronic disease management 

 rehabilitative and habilitative services and devices 

                                                           
4
 Until 2016, small group plans will only include employers with 50 or fewer employees. Beginning in 

2016, small group plans will expand to include those employers with 100 or fewer employees. The EHB 
requirements do not extend to fully-insured large group plans, self-insured plans, or grandfathered 
plans.  While state mandated benefits do not apply to self-insured plans, they do apply to large group 
plans.  
5
 See Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act. Section 1302(b)(1)(E). 
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Many of Rhode Island’s mandates appear to fall within one of these ten categories. The ACA 
directed the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) to further define EHBs.  In 
doing so, HHS opted to allow states flexibility during the first two years of the law’s 
implementation, 2014 and 2015.  Each state was required to  select a Base-Benchmark plan by 
December 26, 2012 from one of four options described in the Federal Register6 including (1) The 
largest plan by enrollment in any of the three largest small group insurance products in the 
state’s small group market; (2) any of the largest three state employee health benefit plans by 
enrollment; (3) any of the largest three national Federal Employees Health Benefits Program 
(FEHBP) plan options by enrollment that are open to Federal employees; or (4) the largest 
insured commercial non-Medicaid Health Maintenance Organization (HMO) operating in the 
state. If a state did not recommend a benchmark plan, the default benchmark was determined to 
be the largest small group plan in the state. Rhode Island selected Blue Cross Blue Shield of 
Rhode Island’s (BCBSRI) - Vantage Blue Preferred Provider Organization (PPO) as its Base-
Benchmark plan.  In addition to any benefits specifically falling within an EHB category, all 
benefits in this Base-Benchmark plan are considered an EHB in Rhode Island for 2014 and 2015.   

Depending on what choice a state made, the Base-Benchmark plan may include state-mandated 
benefits to the extent that benefit is offered through the selected plan, as is the case in Rhode 
Island.  For years 2014 and 2015 the federal government will cover the costs of all benefits 
included in the state’s selected Base-Benchmark plan.  However, beginning in 2016, HHS may 
choose to define EHB differently and also may begin enforcing a provision in the ACA 
requiring states to defray the costs of coverage for mandates that exceed those contained in the 
EHB for individuals purchasing subsidized coverage in a state Exchange.7  

This potential direct cost to the State serves as a clear reminder that there are costs to 
implementing mandated benefits and that in implementing mandates it is important for states 
to balance the need to ensure that a particular type of coverage is available for a consumer with 
the impact of that requirement on health insurance premiums while considering the medical 
efficacy and scientific basis of that treatment.  
 
II. Methodology 

OHIC contracted with Bailit Health Purchasing, LLC (Bailit) to conduct this study on behalf of 
the Department.  To keep the costs of this report reasonable, OHIC leveraged pre-existing work 
on mandated benefits from the State’s insurers and studies conducted in neighboring states 
instead of using an actuary to conduct detailed cost estimates.  

In developing the report, Bailit first reviewed each of the State’s benefit and provider 
mandates.8 As detailed below, the review categorizes and describes each State mandate.  Then 
Bailit compared each benefit mandate to other states to determine the number of states with a 

                                                           
6
 http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2012-11-26/pdf/2012-28362.pdf, accessed 03/14/14 

7 ACA Section 1311 (d)(3)(B). 
8
 In one national review of mandates, Rhode Island is shown as having the highest number of mandated 

benefits (70) of any state.  See Health Insurance Mandates in the States 2012, Council for Affordable 
Health Insurance (CAHI) 2013.  The CAHI report includes benefit (requires coverage of a particular 
service), provider (requires inclusion of a particular provider) and coverage (requires coverage of a 
particular population) mandates.  In contrast, this report focuses mainly on benefit mandates and touches 
on provider mandates, but excludes coverage mandates. 
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similar benefit mandate and to compare details of the specific mandates.   Bailit began by 
reviewing the comprehensive mandate report published annually by the Council for Affordable 
Health Insurance (CAHI) to identify states with potentially similar mandates.9  Where available, 
Bailit considered reports and analyses that have been conducted in other states, particularly 
reports from Connecticut10, Massachusetts11, and Maryland12 to leverage pre-existing work on 
mandated benefits.  In addition, Bailit reviewed various advocacy and provider association 
sources that report on mandated benefits. 

Bailit interviewed or received completed surveys from each of the four insurers (BCBSRI, 
United Health Care, Tufts Health Plan, and Neighborhood Health Plan of Rhode Island) that 
are offering coverage through HealthSource RI.  In these interviews, Bailit solicited feedback on 
the approach to the report, and obtained cost and other policy information.  Their input is 
reflected throughout this report.  

To develop the estimated cost impact of mandates on a per member per month (pmpm) basis in 
Rhode Island, Bailit considered including not only direct cost (cost of all services required by 
the mandate), but also indirect costs (cost of services provided outside of the mandate that can 
be attributed to the mandate, or cost savings from provision of certain mandated services).  In 
the end, because of the use of secondary data sources and analysis, the analysis presented here 
uses only direct costs as that was what was most commonly reported by insurance carriers and 
other state reports.    

Bailit used two data gathering methods to conduct this analysis.  First, Bailit requested pmpm 
cost estimates from the four Rhode Island carriers from their fully insured plans, when 
available. BCBSRI provided their cost estimates for the majority of mandates discussed within 
this report.  Most of their estimates were in 2010 dollars.  Bailit then used BCBSRI –specific 
premium increases for years 2011-2014 and inflated these estimates accordingly.  It should be 
noted that this method does not account for any potential differences in provider contracts or 
utilization of these services. Where available, input from the other Rhode Island carriers is also 
noted.  In instances where Rhode Island carriers were not able to share cost estimates for a 
particular mandate, Bailit reviewed at least two other state estimates to provide a range of costs.  
These cost estimates are from nearby states with a similar mandate, similar health care costs and 
who had recently conducted mandated benefit reviews including Massachusetts, Connecticut, 
and Maryland.13  Wherever possible based on the similarity of each mandate, Massachusetts is 
used as the comparison state.  If a cost estimate from Massachusetts was not available, a cost 

                                                           
9 The CAHI report only provides general categories of mandates and the name of states with a mandate 
falling in to the category.  After identifying a state as potentially having a mandate based on the CAHI 
report, however, it was important to look specifically at a state’s legislation or another detailed report to 
obtain more information on each of the mandates.  
10 http://www.ct.gov/cid/lib/cid/2010_CT_Mandated_Health_Insurance_Benefits_Reviews_-
_General_Overview.pdf.  
11

 http://www.mass.gov/chia/docs/r/pubs/13/comprehensive-mandate-review-report-2013-1-10.pdf. 
12

http://mhcc.dhmh.maryland.gov/healthinsurance/Documents/healthinsurance/mandated_2012_2012
0106.pdf. 
13

 Because the mandates are all slightly different, the comparisons to other states only give a sense of 
impact of the cost of each mandate rather than an exact analysis.  
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estimate from Connecticut was preferred and lastly to Maryland.14  Other states’ estimated costs 
were sometimes adjusted based on the differences in the mandated benefit requirements and 
always inflated to 2014 dollars using analyses conducted by the Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), as noted.   

Based on all of the data collected during the research phase, Bailit worked closely with OHIC to 
develop recommendations for ongoing review of current and new mandated benefits, 
particularly in light of the changes implemented due to the ACA.   
 
III. Review of Current State Mandated Benefits 
 
State mandated health benefits are directed at ensuring that individuals who purchase coverage 
in the individual or small group market receive access to services that the State requires health 
insurance carriers to provide.  In Rhode Island, those mandated benefits are typically found in 
state statute governing these entities and the different plans that may be offered.15 State 
mandated benefits do not apply to self-insured plans, Medicare or Medicaid.   
 
This section of the report reviews the current health and provider mandates in the State, and for 
the health benefits, compares Rhode Island’s mandates to those included in other states.  Each 
analysis includes a cost impact of the particular mandate, based on existing Rhode Island data 
and/or by making reasonable estimates of a general cost impact based on reports developed for 
Massachusetts, Connecticut and/or Maryland.  
 
Rhode Island’s mandated benefits were assessed in three different categories: 

1) Service mandates that were either federally mandated before the ACA or which fit 
squarely within one of the ten EHB categories defined by the ACA; 

2) Service mandates which are currently in Rhode Island’s EHB Base-Benchmark plan but 
which may not be considered an EHB by HHS in the future; and 

3) Provider mandates.  
 
A. State Mandated Health Benefits which are also federally mandated or likely to be 

included as Essential Health Benefits 
 

The first group of benefits reviewed is those that are likely to fall within one of the ten 
categories of services included as an EHB or are otherwise federally mandated.  This is done to 
highlight the overlap between existing State mandated benefits and federally mandated 
benefits.  It is likely that with these mandates there is little marginal impact caused by the State 
mandate.  That is, even absent the State mandate, these benefits still would be required by the 
federal government.  In addition, they are typically offered by self-insured firms due to their 
efficacy.  

                                                           
14 The proximity of the states and similarity in premium costs, make both Massachusetts and Connecticut 
reasonable comparison states.  Only two of the benefit mandates were not also required in either 
Massachusetts or Connecticut (second surgical opinion and smoking cessation).   For those benefits, we 
utilized Maryland as our comparison given its relative proximity and cost similarities. 
15 See Rhode Island Statutes 27-20.  
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Given that the definition of EHB is expected to evolve in the next few years, it is important for 
the State to monitor debate around the definition in order to impact it, where appropriate, and 
to consider whether the mandates in this group will ultimately be required based on the final 
EHB definition.  Even if they are all included, however, self-insured firms, fully-insured firms 
with over 100 full-time equivalent employees and firms with grandfathered plans will not need 
to abide by the benefits required under EHB. Fully-insured firms and firms with grandfathered 
plans that are not self-insured do need to comply with State mandated benefits however.  As 
the definition of EHB evolves, the State will want to monitor whether these excluded plans 
continue to offer the benefits within this group.  

As detailed below, some of the State mandated benefits within this category may go further 
than the federal law or EHB and may include limits on cost sharing or other out-of-pocket costs 
for consumers which may not be addressed by federal law.  Table One summarizes benefits 
falling within this first category.  The Table includes estimated 2014 pmpm costs for each of the 
mandates based on the cost methodology described above to provide a sense of the impact of 
mandated benefits on the cost of insurance premiums. While the estimated premium impact of 
these mandates is high ($50.16), given that these services are either federal mandates or 
squarely within an EHB category, there is limited ability for the State to impact insurance 
coverage by making any changes to these mandates.   

Table One:  State Mandated Benefits that Overlap Significantly with Federal Mandates  

Benefit 2014 
estimated 
PMPM 
Cost 

Comments 

Ambulance services $2.76 Benefit is required under ACA, RI law includes cost 
sharing limits, self-insured firms also cover 

Colorectal Screening $4.71 Benefit is required under ACA, self-insured firms also 
cover 

Contraceptive Coverage $1.38 Benefit is required under ACA—may want to wait to see 
what Supreme Court decides regarding religious 
organizations, significant differences between self-insured 
and fully insured firms 

Diabetes Treatment $2.86 Benefit is required under ACA, self-insured firms also 
cover 

Emergency Room 
Services 

-- Benefit is required under federal law, no significant 
difference between self-insured and fully insured firms 

Lead Screening $0.03 Benefit is required under ACA but no age guidelines are 
provided; self-insured firms also cover 

Mammography $3.24 RI mandate aligned with recommendations from ACS, 
consider USPFTS, self-insured firms also cover 

Pap Smears $1.04 Benefit is required under ACA, self-insured firms also 
cover 

Mastectomy Treatment 
and Required Hospital 
Stays  

$0.12 Benefit is required under federal law except RI law also 
includes minimum hospital stays, self-insured firms also 
cover 

Maternity Hospital Stays $9.93 Benefit is required under federal law, self-insured firms 
also cover 

Mental Health and $12.45 Details regarding EHB beyond 2015 may be important to 
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Benefit 2014 
estimated 
PMPM 
Cost 

Comments 

Substance Abuse consider, self-insured firms also cover although some 
carve-outs are apparent 

Newborn Care $6.03 Benefit is required under ACA, RI law also requires 
continuation of the infant on the parent’s insurance plan 
and payment of premium, as appropriate, to continue 
newborn care after the first month of life, self-insured 
firms also cover  

Pediatric Preventive Care $4.22 Benefit is required under ACA, self-insured firms also 
cover 

Prosthetics and Orthotics $0.83 Details regarding EHB beyond 2015 may be important to 
consider, self-insured firms cover but potentially reduced 
dollar amounts without mandate 

Smoking Cessation $0.56 Details regarding EHB beyond 2015 may be important to 
consider, some differences between self-insured and fully-
insured firms 

Total Estimated 
Premium Impact 

$50.16  

 

Ambulance Services 

Rhode Island law mandates that cost sharing for ground ambulance services may not be greater 
than $50 for an individual or group health plan.16  Thirteen other states17 have a mandate for 
ambulance services.  Those states generally require provision of emergency transportation as 
part of insurance coverage but do not typically specify limitations on cost sharing.  New York’s 
mandate also speaks to cost sharing, but requires insurers to make payment in full for 
ambulance services.18   

Ambulance services are unlike many other health care services in that they can be provided by a 
patchwork of public and private providers, and the patient may not know or have control of 
what ambulance is providing services to them.  This is particularly an issue in those areas where 
there are in-network and out of network ambulance services.   

While ambulance services themselves in emergency circumstances will be covered as an 
Essential Health Benefit, having a cost-sharing limitation may continue to be important to limit 
an individual’s financial exposure based on which ambulance service happens to provide the 
emergency transportation.   

Cost Impact:  Rhode Island insurers did not provide cost estimates for this mandate.  The only 
analysis of cost impact which existed was an analysis of Connecticut’s ambulance mandate.  
The Connecticut mandate requires coverage of ambulance services by insurance carriers but 

                                                           
16

 See  § 27-20-55.  Enacted in 2008. 
17

 Health Insurance Mandates in the States 2012, Council for Affordable Health Insurance (CAHI) 2013.   
18See http://codes.lp.findlaw.com/nycode/ISC/43/4303#sthash.mWNG5vm6.dpuf.  
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does not address cost-sharing responsibilities.  The 2014 pmpm cost of ambulance services in 
Connecticut was estimated to be $2.76.   

Colorectal Exams 

Enacted in 2000, Rhode Island mandates coverage for colorectal examinations and laboratory 
tests for cancer for any non-symptomatic covered individual, in accordance with the current 
American Cancer Society guidelines.   Thirty-seven states require coverage of colonoscopies.19 
Like Rhode Island, many of these states specifically tie their mandate to American Cancer 
Society Guidelines.  
 
Colorectal cancer20is the third leading cause of cancer-related deaths in the United States for 
both men and women, accounting for approximately nine percent of all cancer deaths. The risk 
for developing colorectal cancer increases as people age, with the vast majority (90%) of 
colorectal cancers diagnosed in people aged 50 and older.  

The ACA requires coverage of preventive health services with no cost sharing for all U.S. 
Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF) recognized preventive services, including colorectal 
screening. Given that requirement, the State may want to reconsider whether it needs a state-
specific mandate of colorectal screening.  

Cost Impact:  Rhode Island insurers did not provide estimates of the cost of the colorectal 
screening mandate.  Both Connecticut and Maryland did provide cost estimates for colorectal 
screenings within their reports.  Maryland’s estimate was $2.71 pmpm in 2012.  For purposes of 
this report, Connecticut’s estimate of $4.71 pmpm for 2014 was used as the estimate of the 
impact of colorectal screenings in Rhode Island.    

Contraception 

Since 2000, Rhode Island state law has mandated coverage of prescription contraceptive drugs 
and devices for all individual and group health insurance coverage that includes prescription 
drug coverage.21   The mandate does not require coverage for the prescription drug RU 486.22  
The statute allows insurers to exclude this coverage for churches or qualified church-controlled 
organizations for whom such coverage is contrary to bona fide religious tenets.  According to 
the National Conference of State Legislatures, 28 states have similar mandates in place. 23 

The ACA requires coverage of contraceptive methods and counseling as an EHB (women’s 
preventive services).   Because contraception is included under the category of preventive 
services, no cost sharing is allowed.  Under the ACA, women have access to the full range of 
FDA-approved contraceptive methods. This includes, but is not limited to, barrier methods, 
hormonal methods, and implanted devices, as well as patient education and counseling.  
Methods include a range of pills, the ring, the patch, the shot, implants, hormonal intrauterine 

                                                           
19

 Health Insurance Mandates in the States 2012, Council for Affordable Health Insurance (CAHI) 2013.   
20

 Refers to cancer of the colon or the rectum.  
21

See § 27-20-43. 
22

 RU-486 (Mifepristone) is a medication that blocks the action of progesterone to cause abortion.  
23

See http://www.ncsl.org/research/health/insurance-coverage-for-contraception-state-laws.aspx 

http://www.ncsl.org/research/health/insurance-coverage-for-contraception-state-laws.aspx
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devices, non-hormonal intrauterine devices, barrier methods, and sterilization procedures.   
Like Rhode Island, coverage of RU 486 is not required under the ACA.  

To be covered a method must be FDA approved and prescribed by a health care provider.  
Coverage for contraception should be without cost sharing.  However, if a provider prescribes a 
drug and there is a generic equivalent available, a plan or issuer may cover the generic without 
cost-sharing and impose cost-sharing on the branded drug. If a generic version is not available, 
then a plan or issuer must provide coverage for the brand name drug without cost-sharing. 
However, the plan must have a waiver process that enables the woman to access the branded 
drug without cost sharing when a generic drug is available but her provider determines that the 
branded drug is medically appropriate for her.   The final regulations regarding coverage of 
women’s preventive health services under the ACA allows for an exception for religious 
employers.24  However, the Supreme Court will be ruling on this issue this spring. 

Given the requirement to cover contraception through the ACA, there is not a specific need for 
the State to mandate coverage on an ongoing basis.  However, in order to continue the religious 
exemption in Rhode Island, depending on the Supreme Court’s ruling, the State may want to 
maintain at least that portion of the mandate. 

Cost Impact:  Rhode Island insurers did not provide a cost estimate for this mandate. Estimates 
for the cost of contraceptive coverage ranged from $0.94 in Connecticut to $2.71 in Maryland.  
Estimates from an analysis completed on 2009 fully insured claims for Massachusetts25 were 
inflated using national estimates for health insurance spending increases.26 The 2014 pmpm cost 
impact of contraceptives was therefore estimated to be $1.38.   

Diabetes Treatment 

Rhode Island, like most states, requires coverage for diabetes treatment and supplies, including 
self-management education.27  According to CAHI, diabetes supplies are required in 46 states, 
including Rhode Island and diabetes self management is required in 41 states.  Diabetes 
treatment is required as an EHB under the ACA as part of chronic disease management.  

Diabetes is one of most serious and widespread illnesses in America.  With diabetes, a person 
cannot produce or process insulin.  Diabetes is the 7th leading cause of death in the country and 
a number of potential complications stem from diabetes including increased risk of heart 
disease, stroke and hypertension, kidney disease, amputation blindness, and dental and 
periodontal disease.28   Given these health risks and the potential health care costs, insurers 
undoubtedly would cover these services regardless of the State’s mandate.   

                                                           
24

Federal Register, Published July 2, 2013, accessible at http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2013-07-
02/pdf/2013-15866.pdf    
25

 http://www.mass.gov/chia/docs/r/pubs/13/comprehensive-mandate-review-report-2013-1-10.pdf, 
accessed 1/6/14 
26 http://www.cms.gov/Research-Statistics-Data-and-Systems/Statistics-Trends-and-
Reports/NationalHealthExpendData/downloads/proj2012.pdf, accessed 3/12/14 
27

See § 27-20.30 
28

 National Diabetes Fact Sheet, http://www.cdc.gov/diabetes/pubs/pdf/ndfs_2011.pdf 

http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2013-07-02/pdf/2013-15866.pdf
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/FR-2013-07-02/pdf/2013-15866.pdf
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The imperative to manage diabetes as a way to both manage health care quality and costs, 
combined with the requirement that diabetes treatment be included as an EHB under the ACA, 
makes a continuing treatment mandate in Rhode Island somewhat redundant.   

Cost Impact:  Rhode Island insurers did not specifically provide estimates of the cost impact of 
the diabetes mandate.  Costs for diabetes care and treatment varied across states from $0.45 in 
Maryland to $5.59 in Connecticut possibly reflecting differences in service provision, disease 
prevalence, and/or difficulty in analyzing claims data.  Estimates from an analysis completed 
on 2009 fully insured claims for Massachusetts29were inflated using national estimates for 
health insurance spending increases.30  The 2014 pmpm cost impact of diabetes treatment was 
estimated to be $2.86.   

Emergency Room Services 

§ 27-18-76 details how Section 1867 of the Social Security Act 42 (U.S.C. S 1395dd), as amended 
by Section 1001 of the ACA, should be interpreted by health plans in Rhode Island. That is, the 
insurer must provide access to emergency room services without the need for any prior 
authorization determination, even if the emergency services are provided out-of-network.  
Further, health plans may not impose any administrative requirements or limitations on 
coverage for emergency services on out of network providers that do not apply to in-network 
providers.  According to the CAHI report, there are 42 states with an Emergency Room 
mandate although these vary somewhat from prudent layperson31 to more broadly defined 
emergency room coverage.32  Most states initially implemented these laws when managed care 
became the predominant form of coverage in the mid 1990’s, notably RI’s law was passed in 
2012 (following passage of language within the ACA).   

This mandated benefit appears redundant with federal law, particularly since emergency 
services are included as one of the ten categories of EHB.  However, if the State is concerned 
about out-of-network cost sharing it may want to maintain this part of the mandate.   

Cost Impact:  Bailit was not able to identify any cost estimate for emergency room services. 
CAHI estimates the cost of this mandate to be less than 1 percent of the premium, but this 
estimate is not precise enough to be included in the analysis.     

Lead Screenings 

Since 1991, Rhode Island has mandated coverage of screenings for lead poisoning and related 
services for children under age six, including for group plans and for Medicaid.33  Seven states, 
in addition to Rhode Island, have enacted similar mandates, including California, Connecticut, 

                                                           
29

 http://www.mass.gov/chia/docs/r/pubs/13/comprehensive-mandate-review-report-2013-1-10.pdf, 
accessed 1/6/14 
30 http://www.cms.gov/Research-Statistics-Data-and-Systems/Statistics-Trends-and-
Reports/NationalHealthExpendData/downloads/proj2012.pdf, accessed 3/12/14 
31

 Requiring insurers to provide coverage for provision of emergency services in situations where a 
“prudent layperson” (a person who possesses an average knowledge of health and medicine) would 
reasonably believe that particular symptoms required emergency treatment, regardless of the final 
diagnosis.  
32

 Health Insurance Mandates in the States 2012, Council for Affordable Health Insurance (CAHI) 2013.   
33

 § 23-24.6-9   
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Delaware, Massachusetts, Missouri, New Jersey and Wisconsin.34  Under the ACA, health plans 
must provide lead screening for children at risk of exposure as part of preventive services as an 
EHB. 

While the ACA does not provide specific guidelines regarding the age of children for which 
lead screening is relevant, insurers would likely continue to provide for lead screening for 
children under age six regardless of the mandate. 

Cost Impact:  Cost estimates for state mandated lead screening services in Connecticut and 
Massachusetts were $0.01 to $0.07 pmpm, respectively. BCBSRI reported 2010 costs of $0.02 
pmpm, inflated for 2014, the estimated cost of the lead screening mandate is $0.03 pmpm. 

Mammograms/Pap Smears 

Health plans in Rhode Island must cover mammograms and pap smears, in accordance with 
guidelines established by the American Cancer Society, under the State’s mandate, enacted in 
2005.35   

In addition, plans must cover two paid screening mammograms per year if recommended by a 
physician, for women who have been treated for breast cancer within the last five years or who 
are at high risk of developing breast cancer due to genetic predisposition (BRCA gene mutation 
or multiple first degree relatives), a high risk lesion on prior biopsy (lobular carcinoma in situ) 
or atypical ductal hyperplasia.36    

Every state except Utah has a mammogram mandate.   Including Rhode Island, 26 states 
mandate pap smears.37  There is an on-going debate on whether and how often either of these 
screenings should take place. Since Pap tests have been provided on a regular basis, cervical 
cancer incidence and mortality rates have decreased by almost 70%.38 The survival rate for 
women diagnosed with precancerous lesions through the Pap test is nearly 100%, as cancer is 
prevented altogether.  National organizations provide different guidelines in terms of when 
screening mammograms and Pap tests should begin and their periodicity as shown in Table 
Two below.   In implementing the ACA, HHS follows the recommendations of the USPSTF, 39 
which recommends mammograms to begin at age 50 (rather than age 40 as recommended by 
the American Cancer Society (ACS)) and that the tests be conducted every two years (rather 
than annually as recommended by the ACS.   Likewise, for Pap tests, the USPSTF provides for 
screenings to start later (at age 30 rather than at age 21) and to occur every three years (instead 
of annually to age 30 as recommended by ACS).  

Table Two: Differences in Mammogram and Pap Test Recommendations 

Organization Mammogram Recommendations Pap Test Recommendations 

                                                           
34

 Health Insurance Mandates in the States 2012, Council for Affordable Health Insurance (CAHI) 2013. 
35

 § 27-20-17 
36

 Ibid. 
37

 Health Insurance Mandates in the States 2012, Council for Affordable Health Insurance (CAHI) 2013. 
38 http://www.cancer.org/cancer/cervicalcancer/detailedguide/cervical-cancer-key-statistics 
39

 See http://www.hhs.gov/healthcare/facts/factsheets/2010/07/preventive-services-
list.html#CoveredPreventiveServicesforWomenIncludingPregnantWomen  

http://www.hhs.gov/healthcare/facts/factsheets/2010/07/preventive-services-list.html#CoveredPreventiveServicesforWomenIncludingPregnantWomen
http://www.hhs.gov/healthcare/facts/factsheets/2010/07/preventive-services-list.html#CoveredPreventiveServicesforWomenIncludingPregnantWomen
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Organization Mammogram Recommendations Pap Test Recommendations 

National Cancer 
Institute40 

Every two years from aged 40-49; every 1-2 
years for women 50 and older 

Begin testing at age 21, and 
following a triennial schedule until 
age 29. Women age 30 and over, 
with three consecutive negative 
screenings and no risk factors, can 
have combined test with HPV 
every five years.41  

American College of 
Obstetrics and 
Gynecology42 

Every two years from aged 40-49; every 
year for women 50 and older 

Begin testing at age 21 regardless 
of sexual history, and following a 
biennial schedule until age 29. 
Women age 30 and over, with 
three consecutive negative 
screenings and no risk factors, can 
move to a triennial schedule. 
ACOG further recommends 
against screening before age 21, as 
“it may lead to unnecessary and 
harmful evaluation and treatment 
in women at very low risk of 
cancer.” 

American Cancer 
Society43 

Annual mammogram all women 40 and 
older 

Begin testing three years after a 
woman begins vaginal intercourse, 
but no later than 21 years of age, 
with annual screenings.  From age 
30-70, every 2-3 if have had three 
successive normal screens. Women 
who are 70 and older with three or 
more successive normal tests and 
no abnormal tests in the past 10 
years, and women with total 
hysterectomies, do not require 
screening. 

U.S Preventive 
Services Task Force 
(USPSTF)44 

Every two years from the age of 50 
through 74. 

Every three years for women age 
30 and older. 

American College of 
Preventive Medicine45 

Every 1-2 years from the age of 50 to 70.  
Those older than 70 should continue to 

Begin testing as soon as sexually 
active, or by age 18.  Perform 

                                                           
40

 http://www.cancer.gov/ 
41

 National Cancer Institute, Pap and HPV Testing Fact Sheet; accessible at  
http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/factsheet/detection/Pap-HPV-testing  
42

https://www.acog.org/About_ACOG/News_Room/News_Releases/2011/Annual_Mammograms_N
ow_Recommended_for_Women_Beginning_at_Age_40; see also 
https://www.acog.org/About_ACOG/Announcements/New_Cervical_Cancer_Screening_Recommend
ations,  
43 http://www.cancer.org/healthy/findcancerearly/cancerscreeningguidelines/american-cancer-
society-guidelines-for-the-early-detection-of-cancer, 
44

 http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org/uspstf/uspsbrca.htm,  see also 
http://www.uspreventiveservicestaskforce.org/uspstf/uspscerv.htm 
45

 http:// www.acpm.org.   

http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/factsheet/detection/Pap-HPV-testing
https://www.acog.org/About_ACOG/News_Room/News_Releases/2011/Annual_Mammograms_Now_Recommended_for_Women_Beginning_at_Age_40
https://www.acog.org/About_ACOG/News_Room/News_Releases/2011/Annual_Mammograms_Now_Recommended_for_Women_Beginning_at_Age_40
http://www.acpm.org/
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Organization Mammogram Recommendations Pap Test Recommendations 

receive mammograms as long as can 
receive treatment.  Makes no specific 
recommendations for those under 50, 
instead suggests further study of potential 
benefit for those women at higher risk.46  

annually after two consecutive 
tests show normal results.  Testing 
should occur until age 65. 

Where Rhode Island’s mandate specifically ties coverage to the American Cancer Society’s 
guidelines, the State may want to revisit its mandate, and consider whether given the ACA 
requirement, a mandate is even necessary. 

Cost Impact:   Rhode Island insurers did not estimate a cost for the mammogram or pap smear 
mandates.  The 2014 cost estimate from Connecticut was used to estimate the cost of the 
mammography mandate in Rhode Island, which is $3.24 pmpm.  The estimate for pap smears 
was provided by Massachusetts for 2009 and inflated to 2014 dollars.  Based on that, it is 
estimated that the impact of the mandate is $1.04 pmpm in 2014 in Rhode Island.   

Mastectomy Treatment and Required Hospital Stays 

Well before the passage of the ACA, Congress enacted a federally mandated benefit for breast 
reconstruction after mastectomy as part of the Women’s Health and Cancer Rights Act 
(WHCRA) of 1998. Under WHCRA, group health plans, insurance companies and health 
maintenance organizations (HMOs) offering mastectomy coverage are required to provide 
coverage for certain services relating to the mastectomy in a manner determined in consultation 
with an individual and his or her physician. This required coverage includes all stages of 
reconstruction of the breast on which the mastectomy was performed, surgery and 
reconstruction of the other breast to produce a symmetrical appearance, prostheses and 
treatment of physical complications of the mastectomy, including lymphedema.  These benefits 
may have a yearly deductible and can be subject to co-pays or co-insurance.   

Rhode Island first enacted a similar mandate in 1997. 47  In addition to the requirements of the 
federal mandate, Rhode Island also mandates a minimum hospital stay of 48 hours for a 
mastectomy and 24 hours after an axillary node dissection.  The stay may be shortened upon 
consultation with patient and physician.  In those cases, the patient’s discharge plan shall 
include one home visit by a physician or registered nurse. 48 

There are 21 additional states with reconstruction mandates, and many include minimum stays 
similar to Rhode Island’s law.49  While Massachusetts does not currently have a minimum stay 
mandate, the state has reviewed proposed bills to implement a minimum stay.50    

                                                           
46

See http://c.ymcdn.com/sites/www.acpm.org/resource/resmgr/policy-files/polstmt_breast.pdf 
47

§ 27-20-29 
48

§ 27-20-29.1 
49Health Insurance Mandates in the States 2012, Council for Affordable Health Insurance 
(CAHI) 2013.  A summary of state laws can be found at: 

http://www.breastreconstruction.org/breast_reconstruction_insurance_coverage.html.  
50

 See  http://www.mass.gov/chia/docs/r/pubs/13/hb931-mastecomies.pdf  

http://www.breastreconstruction.org/breast_reconstruction_insurance_coverage.html
http://www.mass.gov/chia/docs/r/pubs/13/hb931-mastecomies.pdf
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Although the State mandate requires certain lengths of stay, it is unlikely that insurers would 
try to limit lengths of stay as there may be unintended consequences. Rhode Island’s law was 
implemented before the federal law and may be considered somewhat redundant at this time. 

Cost Impact: Rhode Island insurers did not provide specific cost estimates of this mandate.  We 
reviewed Connecticut and Maryland cost estimates.  Maryland found a negligible cost of $0.00 
pmpm while 2014 cost estimates from Connecticut was $0.12 pmpm.  Connecticut’s estimate is 
used as a proxy for costs in Rhode Island since no Massachusetts estimate was available.   

Maternity Hospital Stays 

Since 1996, Rhode Island has required insurers to provide a minimum hospital stay of 48 hours 
for a vaginal delivery and 96 hours for a caesarean section.51  The time may be shortened by the 
treating physician in consultation with the mother.  In those cases, the discharge plan must 
include home visits, parent education, assistance with breast or bottle feeding and performance 
of any necessary clinical test. The State law is similar to the federal Newborns’ and Mothers’ 
Health Protection Act of 1996 which requires a minimum hospital stay: 1-2 days for vaginal 
delivery; 3-4 days for caesarean section.  All states have a similar mandate, however, given the 
current practice and inclusion of this benefit as a federally mandated benefit, Rhode Island may 
want to consider eliminating this benefit in State law.  

Cost Impact:  Rhode Island insurers did not provide any specific cost estimates for this 
mandate.  Cost estimates of maternity stays in other states varied, with Massachusetts being an 
outlier on the upper end.  Both Maryland and Connecticut provided estimates of $2.25 pmpm 
although using different years as their base.  To estimate the impact of Rhode Island’s mandate, 
the estimate provided by Massachusetts for 2009 was used and inflated to 2014 dollars, despite 
the fact that it was an outlier.  However, it is important to recognize that this estimate may be 
significantly higher than what the true experience is.  The estimate for Rhode Island, based on 
Massachusetts’ estimate, is $9.93 pmpm.    

Mental Health and Substance Abuse  

Rhode Island mandates coverage of mental health and substance use treatment services.52  
Specifically, the mandate requires parity for mental health and substance use treatment services 
as compared to coverage for other illnesses and diseases.  The statute places specific time limits 
on services as follows: 

 outpatient substance abuse treatment limited to 30 hours per year,  

 community residential services for substance abuse limited to 30 days per year, and, 

 detoxification services limited to up to 5 occurrences or 30 days per year, whichever 
occurs first.   

Typically, substance use treatment services include chemical dependency treatment and 
detoxification services.  In addition to being included as an EHB, federal law also requires 
mental health parity, including for substance use treatment services.53  HHS issued final 

                                                           
51

 § 27-20.17.1 
52

 § 27-38.2 
53 See the Paul Wellstone and Pete Domenici Mental Health Parity and Addiction Equity Act [need cite]. 
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regulations implementing the Act in November 2013.  The regulations require that health plans 
provide similar coverage for mental health and substance use services, including charging 
similar co-pays and deductible, and placing similar limits on services as compared to physical 
health services.54  Specifically the final rules require that any financial or service limitations be 
no more restrictive then the predominate limitations applied to “substantially all” of six 
categories of medical/surgical benefits.   

To know whether Rhode Island’s current mandate meets the federal parity requirements, it is 
important to understand whether similar time limits are placed on physical health services.  If 
there are not similar limits, then there cannot be limits on these substance use treatment services 
going forward. Rhode Island may want to maintain its law on mental health and substance 
abuse until a final ruling by HHS on EHB is made 

Cost Impact: According to the CAHI report, almost all states (45) have some type of 
alcohol/substance abuse mandate in place, and the cost of the mandate is between 1 and 3% of 
the premium price.  It is one of the most expensive mandates. 55  Rhode Island insurers have not 
separately estimated the cost of the state’s mental health parity mandate, including substance 
abuse provisions.  Other states’ estimates vary widely given the large differences in the states’ 
laws.  For example, Maryland’s estimate includes a combined pmpm for mental health and 
substance abuse treatment as being $21.22 pmpm while Connecticut finds a $0.45 pmpm cost 
from its mandate for treatment of “medical complications of alcoholism.”  Coverage for mental 
illness, including substance abuse services, is much higher in Connecticut– at $10.20 pmpm. The 
estimate for mental health services used here was provided by Massachusetts for 2009 and 
inflated to 2014 dollars.  This estimate is not limited to substance abuse services.  Based on 
Massachusetts’ review, the estimated cost impact of mental health parity in Rhode Island in 
2014 is $12.45 pmpm.   

Newborn care 

Rhode Island law requires that newborns be covered by their parents’ health insurance plan 
beginning at birth.56 Under this requirement, coverage must include injury or sickness including 
the necessary care and treatment of medically diagnosed congenital defects and birth 
abnormalities. If the newborn is the first child on the policy and the addition of the child would 
change the family’s premium, the plan may require notification of birth and payment of the 
required premium within 31 days after the date of birth in order to have the coverage continue.  
 
CAHI reports that all 50 states have a newborn coverage mandate.57  Federal law requires 
coverage for hospitalization of newborns for 48 to 96 hours, depending on the type of delivery 
(Newborns’ and Mothers’ Health Protection Act of 1996). Moreover, newborn coverage is 
squarely considered an EHB, as one of the ten categories includes “maternity and newborn 
care.”  Despite that, it may make sense for Rhode Island to keep this mandate as it requires 
continuation of the infant on the parent’s insurance plan and payment of premium, as 
appropriate, to continue newborn care after the first month of life.  

                                                           
54 See 78 FR 68239.  
55

Health Insurance Mandates in the States 2012, Council for Affordable Health Insurance (CAHI) 2013. 
56

 DBR Reg 23. V; enacted in 2001. 
57

 Health Insurance Mandates in the States 2012, Council for Affordable Health Insurance (CAHI) 2013. 
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Cost Impact:  Rhode Island insurers did not estimate the cost impact of the newborn care 
mandate.  Connecticut, which has an identical mandate to Rhode Island, did estimate cost to be 
$6.03 pmpm in 2014.  

Pediatric Preventive Care 

Since 1998, Rhode Island has mandated coverage of pediatric preventive care.58 The benefits do 
not need to include anything provided for by the State to all children, or for cost of the 
biological preparation used for vaccines.  In addition to Rhode Island, 31 states require coverage 
of well-child care.59   Rhode Island and California have the broadest mandates regarding well 
child care.  Many states only require coverage to age six. Pediatric preventive care is required 
under the ACA and no cost sharing is allowed.  Given that requirement and the efficacy of the 
benefit, the State may want to reconsider whether it needs a state-specific mandate of pediatric 
preventive care. Whether or not there is a mandate in place, the coverage will be required 
and/or provided by insurers.   

Cost Impact:  Rhode Island insurers did not estimate a specific cost for the pediatric preventive 
care mandate.  Both the scope and cost of the mandates differed in Connecticut, Massachusetts 
and Maryland. Connecticut estimated a cost of $2.40 pmpm while Maryland estimated a cost of 
$7.67 pmpm.  Massachusetts’ 2009 estimate fell in the middle at $3.42.  For purposes of 
providing the estimated impact of the mandate for this report, Massachusetts’ estimate is used 
and inflated to 2014 dollars, to arrive at $4.22 pmpm.  

Prosthetics and Orthotics 

Rhode Island law mandates that small group and individual insurance policies provide 
coverage for prosthetics and orthotics at the same level as what is covered by Medicare 
including appropriate co-payments.6061  Under the mandate, benefits may be limited to devices 
that are the most appropriate for meeting the medical need and managed care plans may 
require beneficiaries to purchase these devices through a vendor located in Rhode Island.  

CAHI reports that in addition to Rhode Island, 23 other states have a mandate involving 
prosthetics and orthotics.62 Under the ACA, these services appear to be part of the ten EHBs, 
within the category of rehabilitative and habilitative services.  Rhode Island may want to 
maintain its specific benefit until a final ruling regarding the details of what is and what is not 
included in the HHS definition of rehabilitative and habilitative services.  

Cost Impact:  Estimates for prosthetics and orthotics from Connecticut and Massachusetts 
ranged from $0.12 in Massachusetts to $2.94 in Connecticut.  The estimate from BCBSRI fell in 

                                                           
58

 § 27-38.1-2 
59

 Health Insurance Mandates in the States 2012, Council for Affordable Health Insurance (CAHI) 2013. 
60

§ 27-20-52; enacted 2006. 
61

Medicare covers the following services with a 20% co-payment after the Part B deductible is met: arm, 

leg, back, and neck braces, artificial limbs and eyes, breast prostheses (including a surgical brassiere) after 
a mastectomy, ostomy supplies for individuals who have had a colostomy, ileostomy, or urinary ostomy, 
prosthetic devices needed to replace an internal body part or function, and therapeutic shoes or inserts 
for people with diabetes who have severe diabetic foot disease, when prescribed and fitted by a podiatrist 
or other qualified individual.  
62

Health Insurance Mandates in the States 2012, Council for Affordable Health Insurance (CAHI) 2013. 
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the middle of these two estimates at $0.64 in 2010.  BCBSRI’s estimate was inflated to 2014 
dollars to arrive at an estimate of $0.83 pmpm. 

Smoking Cessation Programs  

Enacted in 2006, Rhode Island law mandates tobacco cessation programs for all individual or 
group plans offered in Rhode Island.  The plans must include coverage for smoking cessation 
treatment, including FDA approved smoking cessation medication if the plan otherwise 
provides for coverage of prescription drugs.63  Plans can limit coverage to two courses of the 
medication and require that it be in combination with outpatient counseling sessions. 
According to CAHI, six states in addition to Rhode Island include smoking cessation as a 
mandated benefit.64  While the Rhode Island mandate allows for cost sharing, smoking 
cessation is considered a USPSTF service and therefore cost sharing is prohibited. Despite being 
a USPSTF recommended service, smoking cessation services are not currently uniformly 
covered by insurers.65  Given the disparity in coverage in states without their own mandate, 
Rhode Island may want to consider keeping this mandate in place even though it is otherwise 
required by the federal government through the ACA. 
 
Cost Impact:  Rhode Island insurers did not provide cost estimates for the impact of the 
smoking cessation mandate.  The only state that estimated the costs of a smoking cessation 
mandate was Maryland.  They estimated a cost of $0.45 in 2012.  Inflated to 2014 dollars, the 
estimate, based on Maryland’s findings, for the cost of the smoking cessation mandate is $0.56 
pmpm in Rhode Island.  
 

B. State Mandated Health Benefits That Do Not Squarely Fall Within an 
Essential Health Benefit Category 
 

This second group of mandates includes those Rhode Island mandates that do not fall squarely 
within an Essential Health Benefits Category and therefore may not be considered an EHB by 
HHS in the future.  Without an ongoing State mandate, it is possible that these benefits may not 
continue to be covered by Rhode Island insurers.66   Further, if a State mandated benefit is not 
included as an EHB going forward, the State may be required, as provided for within the ACA, 
to cover the full cost of that benefit with state-only dollars for individuals who receive advanced 
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§ 27-20-53 
64

Health Insurance Mandates in the States 2012, Council for Affordable Health Insurance (CAHI) 2013. 
While CAHI identified that Connecticut was one of the six states in addition to Rhode Island with a 
smoking cessation mandate, our research did not identify such a mandate within Connecticut’s 
commercial market.  
65

 See Victoria Stagg Elliot, Despite ACA Mandate, tobacco cessation not always covered.  American 
Medical News, posted December 17, 2012; accessible at 
http://www.amednews.com/article/20121217/business/121219969/4/ ; see also,  
66

 It is important to note, however, that once a mandate is in place, it would be hard for an insurer to take 
away a particular benefit even if it was no longer required, because of consumer pushback or to remain 
competitive with other insurers in the state.  

http://www.amednews.com/article/20121217/business/121219969/4/
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premium tax credits through HealthSource RI.67  Given that, we provide a more in depth look at 
each of these mandates then we did to those in Section A, including providing a more detailed 
comparison of Rhode Island’s mandate to that of other states. 

Given that the group of benefits shown in Table Three are ones in which the State may impact 
whether these benefits are provided by insurers, and going forward, the State may be 
responsible for the cost of coverage as it relates to individuals who received subsidized 
coverage through HealthSource RI, the State may want to monitor these benefits more closely 
than the benefits in Table Two above. Together, the benefits within this second category have a 
moderate impact on overall premium costs based on estimated 2014 pmpm costs.   Although 
most of these mandates do not apply to Medicaid, many of these benefits are covered by 
Medicaid. The State should continue to closely monitor these benefits to understand the impact 
of the mandate on both quality and cost.  In particular, infertility services, home health services 
and off prescription drug use are among the highest estimated cost services and should be 
comprehensively reviewed in the next couple of years to determine whether they should be 
continued once definition of EHB is finalized.  In addition, given the controversy surrounding 
prostate screening, this benefit should also be comprehensively reviewed again in the near 
future.   

Table Three:  State Mandated Benefits that do not Overlap Significantly with Federal 
Mandates  

Benefit 2014 
estimated 
PMPM 
Cost 

Comments 

Autism $1.12 The State will need to better understand costs and benefits 
of funding this benefit should HHS not include it in EHB 
post 2016.  Self-insured firms often do not elect coverage. 

Early Intervention $0.29 Some of the services included under this mandate may be 
included under the EHB category of habilitative services, 
the State will need to better understand costs of funding 
this benefit should HHS not include it in EHB post 2016. 
Covered by self-insured firms. 

Enteral formula $0.02 The State will need to better understand costs of funding 
this benefit post 2016, covered by self-funded firms. 

Hearing Aids  $0.14 The State will need to better understand costs of funding 
this benefit should HHS not include it in EHB post 2016, 
significant differences in benefit between fully-insured 
and self-insured firms. 

Home Health $1.79 Some habilitative services can be provided as home health 
services, the State will need to better understand costs of 
funding this benefit post 2016, covered by self-insured 
firms. 

HLA Testing $0.04 This testing is considered primary care, it is unclear 
whether mandate is necessary given ACA, covered by 
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 In that case, the State will need to consider both the overall impact to insurance premiums of a 
particular mandate, as well as the specific State cost of continuing a mandate that does not fall within an 
EHB category.  
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self-insured firms 

Infertility $1.29 The State will need to better understand costs of funding 
this benefit post 2016, significant differences in coverage 
between self-insured and fully-insured firms. 

Lyme Disease Treatment $0.03 Some Lyme disease care is considered primary care, 
however some experimental care would not be covered 
without mandate 

Off-Label Rx $3.48 Would be covered on case by case basis without mandate, 
covered by self-insured firms. 

Prostate Screening $0.14 Not considered an EHB, the State will need to better 
understand costs of funding this benefit post 2016, 
covered by self-insured firms. 

Second Surgical Opinion $00 Medicare covers for non-emergency surgeries, cost-
effective, covered by self-insured firms. 

Wigs $0.05 The State will need to better understand costs of funding 
this benefit post 2016, some coverage differences between 
self-insured and fully-insured firms. 

Total Estimated 
Premium Impact  

$8.36  

 
Autism 
 
Rhode Island is one of 32 states to require coverage of certain benefits for individuals with 
autism spectrum disorder.68  Enacted in 2012, the mandate applies to large group insurers only 
and requires coverage of Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Speech Therapy, 
psychology, psychiatry and Applied Behavior Analysis (ABA) for patients with Autism who are 
under age 15.69  As legislated, the mandate limits coverage of ABA to $32,000 per year.  Because 
the ACA no longer allows annual limits on benefits, insurers may need to alter their benefit to 
develop an actuarial equivalent benefit absent those limits.70  Many autism services are 
considered habilitative services and as such, have the potential to be considered an EHB.71   It is 
not yet clear, however, that there is agreement that these services are included and, if so, to 
what extent.  
 
Generally, the state laws are similar in the benefits required under the Rhode Island mandate.  
Most, but not all, of the states passed the mandate with an annual maximum expenditure and 
some also included a lifetime maximum.  Rhode Island’s $32,000 annual maximum for coverage 
is consistent with many states, though a number of states vary the maximum to allow for higher 
levels of coverage for those at younger ages ($40,000-$50,000) and lower limits ($25,000) as 
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Health Insurance Mandates in the States 2012, Council for Affordable Health Insurance (CAHI) 2013. 
The American Speech Language Hearing Association has a slightly different list of states 
http://www.asha.org/Advocacy/state/States-Specific-Autism-Mandates as does the National 
Conference of State Legislatures http://www.ncsl.org/research/health/autism-and-insurance-coverage-
state-laws.aspx. 
69

§ 27-20.11 
70 Note that BCBSRI did not make any changes relative to the Base Benchmark Plan as this mandate is 
only applicable to the large group market and therefore not included within the Base Benchmark Plan.  
71

 See https://www.statereforum.org/weekly-insight/defining-habilitative-benefits 

http://www.asha.org/Advocacy/state/States-Specific-Autism-Mandates
http://www.ncsl.org/research/health/autism-and-insurance-coverage-state-laws.aspx
http://www.ncsl.org/research/health/autism-and-insurance-coverage-state-laws.aspx
https://www.statereforum.org/weekly-insight/defining-habilitative-benefits
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children move towards their 18th birthday. Table Four below provides a summary of autism 
mandates across the states.   
 
Table Four: Sample Autism Mandates from Select States 
State Services Included Dollar Limit Notes 

AR Behavioral therapy  $50,000 annual limit up 
to age 9;  
$25,000 annual limit 
between ages of 9 and 
16.  
 

Ariz. Rev. Stat. Ann. §20-
826.04; §20-1057.11; §20-
1402.03; §20-1404.03 

CO Evaluation and Assessment Services, 
Behavior training and behavior management and 
applied behavior analysis;  
occupational therapy, physical therapy, or speech 
therapy, 

20 visits per year each 
for PT, OT and ST. 

Colo. Rev. Stat. §10-16-104 

CT PT,OT, ST,  
psychiatric,  
psychologist,  
behavioral therapy  

$50,000 annual limit up 
to age 9;  
$35,000 annual limit 
between age 9 and 13;  
$25,000 annual limit for 
13 and 14 year olds.  

Conn. Gen. Stat. §38a-514b 
(as amended by S.B. 301 
(2009) 

DE behavioral health treatment; 
pharmacy care; 
psychiatric care; 
psychological care; 
therapeutic care; 
and items and equipment necessary to provide, 
receive, or advance in the above listed services 

ABA limited to 
$36,000/year (updated 
annually for inflation) 

Del. Code Ann. tit. 18, §3361 
(as added by S.B. 22 [2012]) 

FL Well-baby and well-child screening for diagnosing 
the presence of autism spectrum disorder. 
 
Treatment of autism spectrum disorder through 
speech therapy, occupational therapy, physical 
therapy, and applied behavior analysis. 

Maximum annual limit 
of $36,000 for 
individuals under age 
18; with lifetime 
maximum of $200,000. 
Individuals 18 and 
older may continue to 
receive coverage if in 
high school and was 
diagnosed with a 
developmental 
disability at 8 or 
younger. 

Fla. Stat. Ann. §627.6686 

IL psychiatric care,; 
psychological care,;  
habilitative or rehabilitative care, (including ABA); 
therapeutic care, including behavioral, speech, 
occupational, and physical therapies.  
 
Care must be prescribed by physician or licensed 
health care professional with expertise in treating 
effects of autism spectrum disorders. 

Annual maximum of 
$36,000; no limit on the 
number of visits to a 
service provider. 

Ill. Comp. Stat. ch. 215, § 
5/356z.14 
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State Services Included Dollar Limit Notes 

IN Requires group and individual policies to provide 
coverage for the treatment of a pervasive 
developmental disorder of an insured. A pervasive 
developmental disorder is defined as a neurological 
condition, including Asperger's syndrome and 
autism, as defined in the most recent edition of the 
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental 
Disorders of the American Psychiatric Association. 

Dollar limit and cost-
sharing must be same 
as any that apply to 
physical illness 
generally  

Ind. Code Ann. §27-8-14.2; 
§27-13-7-14.7 

KY Requires coverage for the diagnosis and treatment 
of autism spectrum disorders in the individual, 
small and large group markets. Treatment includes: 
medical care;  
habilitative or rehabilitative care;  
pharmacy care,  
psychiatric care;  
psychological care;  
therapeutic care (OT, PT, ST)  
ABA 

Large Group: 

$50,000 maximum 
annual benefit children 
age 1 through 7;   
$1000 monthly limit for 
children age 8 through 
21,  
Small Group and 
Individual Market 
Coverage  
$1,000 maximum 
benefit per month, per 
covered individual. 

Ky. Rev. Stat. §304.17A-142, 
304.17A-143 

LA Requires any health coverage plan to provide 
coverage for the diagnosis and treatment of autism 
spectrum disorders in individuals under 21. 
Treatment must be prescribed by physician or 
psychologist and includes:  
habilitative or rehabilitative care;  
pharmacy care;  
psychiatric care;  
psychological care;  
therapeutic care (ST, OT, PT)  

Maximum annual 
benefit of $36,000 per 
year and a lifetime 
maximum benefit of 
$144,000. There shall 
not be any limits on the 
number of visits an 
individual may make to 
an autism services 
provider. 

La. Rev. Stat. Ann. §22-1050 

MA Effective January 1, 2011, requires insurance 
coverage for autism. Treatment includes: 
habilitative or rehabilitative care;  
pharmacy care;  
psychiatric care;  
psychological care; and  
therapeutic care (including ST) 
 
Care must be prescribed by a physician or 
psychologist.  

Dollar limits cannot be 
less than the annual or 
lifetime dollar or unit 
of service limitation 
imposed on coverage 
for the diagnosis and 
treatment of physical 
conditions.  
 
No limits on number of 
visits to an autism 
services provider.  
 
No limits on services to 
an individual with 
autism that also is 
provided to individuals 
without autism.  

Mass. Gen. Laws. ch. 32A 
§25; ch. 175 §47AA; ch. 176A 
§8DD ch. 176B §4DD; ch. 
176G §4V 

MI Effective January 1, 2014, requires coverage of 
diagnosis and treatment of autism spectrum 

Coverage available 
through 18 years of age 

Mich. Comp. Laws 
§550.1461(e) as added by 
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State Services Included Dollar Limit Notes 

disorders by group and non-group plans. Treatment 
must be prescribed by a licensed physician or a 
licensed psychologist.  Services include:  
Behavioral health treatment;  
Pharmacy care;  
Psychiatric care;  
Psychological care;  
Therapeutic care (OT, PT, ST, or SW)  

and may be subject to a 
maximum annual 
benefit as follows:  
$50,000 - through age 6 
$40,000.00 from 7 
through 12; 
 $30,000 from 13 
through 18. 

S.B. 414; S.B. 415; S.B. 981 

VT Requires a health insurance plan to provide 
coverage for the diagnosis and treatment of autism 
spectrum disorders prescribed by a physician or 
psychologist, including ABA supervised by a 
nationally board-certified behavior analyst, for 
children, beginning at 18 months of age and 
continuing until the child reaches age six or enters 
the first grade, whichever occurs first. Treatment 
includes: habilitative or rehabilitative care; 
pharmacy care; psychiatric care; psychological care; 
and therapeutic care (includes services provided by 
licensed or certified speech language pathologists, 
occupational therapists, physical therapists, or 
social workers)  

 Required to be implemented 
no later than July 1, 2012 
 
Vt. Code Ann. tit. 8 § 4088i 

WI Requires coverage of treatment of autism spectrum 
disorder if the treatment when prescribed by a 
physician, and provided by providers who are 
qualified to provide intensive−level services or non- 
intensive−level services: a psychiatrist; a 
psychologist; a social worker; a paraprofessional 
working under the supervision of a psychiatrist, 
psychologist or social worker; a professional 
working under the supervision of an outpatient 
mental health clinic; a speech−language pathologist; 
or an occupational therapist.  

Must provide coverage 
of at least $50,000 for 
intensive−level services 
per insured per year, 
with a minimum of 30 
to 35 hours of care per 
week for a minimum 
duration of 4 years, and 
at least $25,000 for non-
intensive−level services 
per insured per year 

Wis. Stat. §632.895(12m) 

 
Rhode Island may want to monitor whether autism services are required as part of the 
habilitative EHB category.  If it is not included, the State should continue to monitor the offering 
of this benefit and periodically review the clinical relevance of the specific services over time.   
The State also must consider the cost impact not only to insurance premiums as a whole, but the 
direct state cost of having to pay for this benefit for individuals purchasing subsidized coverage 
through HealthSource RI.  Additionally, the State should also consider the social and medical 
benefits from including autism services as a mandated benefit.  

Cost Impact:  Both BCBSRI and Tufts shared estimated costs of the autism mandate.  On 
average, inflated to 2014 dollars, the estimated impact on the premium is $1.12 pmpm.  This 
cost estimate falls within the middle of the range of estimates available in Connecticut, 
Massachusetts, Maryland and Rhode Island.  The state laws have significant benefit differences 
including what services are covered and limits on service provision as displayed in Table Two 
above.  The cost estimates range from a low of $0.00 in Connecticut to a high of $2.18 pmpm in 
Massachusetts.   
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Early Intervention Services 

Since 2005, Rhode Island insurers have been mandated to provide coverage for early 
intervention services to children under the age of three.72 As written, the law places a $5,000 
limit on the benefit, per child per year. Because of the prohibition in the ACA regarding annual 
limits, BCBSRI reviewed this benefit and decided that putting in place a visit limit was not 
feasible due to the variety of services included in the scope and the way in which they are billed 
by EIS providers.  Therefore, the annual limit was removed but no additional restriction was 
put in place.  For the purpose of the mandate, early intervention services include, but are not 
limited to, speech and language therapy, occupational therapy, physical therapy, evaluation, 
case management, nutrition, service plan development and review, nursing services, and 
assistive technology services and devices for dependents from birth to age three who are 
certified by the Rhode Island Department of Human Services as eligible for early intervention 
services as included under part C of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA)(20 
U.S.C. § 1471 et seq.) which requires states to provide a statewide, comprehensive system of 
early intervention services to infants and toddlers with special needs.  
  
There are a handful of states in addition to Rhode Island with an early intervention mandate.73  
Like Rhode Island, many of these states tie both eligibility and services to the IDEA, as shown in 
Table Five below.  Through part C of IDEA, infants and toddlers are eligible for a variety of 
early intervention services coordinated across families, community organizations and 
providers.   Services may include audiology, assistive technology; counseling; family training; 
medical evaluations for diagnostic purposes; nursing, nutrition, occupational therapy, physical 
therapy, service coordination, speech therapy, transportation and visions services.74   
 
Table Five: Early Intervention Mandates 
State Services Included Dollar Limit Notes 

CO Part C services Coverage available to $6,067, including case 
management costs, per calendar or policy 
year. 

CRS 27-10.5-
101(1)(i) 

CT Part C services Coverage available to $6,400 per child per 
year, with aggregate benefit of up to $19,200 
per child over the total three-year period.  
(Not applicable to those with autism). 
 
No cost-sharing is allowed on these 
services, unless provided through a high 
deductible plan 

Section 38a-
490a, Section 
38a-516a   

IN Covers early intervention services for Payments for early intervention services IC 5-10-8-7.3 

                                                           
72

 § 27-20-50 
73

 CAHI reports that 10 states in addition to Rhode Island have an Early Intervention mandate.  Health 
Insurance Mandates in the States 2012, Council for Affordable Health Insurance (CAHI) 2013. See also 
The Early Childhood Technical Assistance Center; State Policies on the Use of Private Insurance for Early 
Intervention Services accessible at http://ectacenter.org/topics/finance/statelegis.asp which identifies 8 
states in addition to Rhode Island with an Early Intervention mandate. 
74

See Vermont Department of Children and Families, description of IDEA Part C – Early Intervention 
Services for Infants and Toddlers, accessible at: 
http://dcf.vermont.gov/cdd/cis/IDEA_Part_C_early_intervention.  

http://ectacenter.org/topics/finance/statelegis.asp
http://dcf.vermont.gov/cdd/cis/IDEA_Part_C_early_intervention
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State Services Included Dollar Limit Notes 

children under age 2 if otherwise covered 
services under the policy. 

may not count against any lifetime caps. 

MA Requires coverage for medically necessary 
early intervention services for children 
under age 3 delivered by certified early 
intervention specialists, as defined in the 
early intervention operational standards 
by the department of public health and in 
accordance with applicable certification 
requirements.  

No cost-sharing allowed, except if 
prohibition on co-payments, coinsurance or 
deductibles would cause plan to lose 
federal tax exempt status.  

c. 175 § 47C; c. 
176A § 8B; c.  
176B § 4C; c. 
176G § 4 

NH Coverage for Early Intervention Therapy 
Services up to child’s third birthday.  

Coverage of up to $3,200 per child per year 
not to exceed $9,600 by the child's third 
birthday. 

415:6-n   

NM Requires coverage for children, from birth 
through three years of age of early 
intervention services as part of an 
individualized family service plan, 
delivered by certified and licensed 
personnel working in early intervention 
programs that are approved by the 
department of health.  

Maximum annual benefit of $3,500.  Cost 
cannot apply against maximum lifetime 
limit or annual limits within policy.  

NMAC – R 
7.30.8 

NY Requires local early intervention program 
administrators to seek commercial 
insurance reimbursement for early 
intervention services delivered to children 
whose commercial insurance policies are 
subject to New York State law. State law 
subrogates municipalities to covered 
children's insurance policies for 
reimbursement of services delivered 
through the Early Intervention Program, 
and provides the following protections for 
family insurance policies when used for 
early intervention services: 

Payment for early intervention services 
cannot be applied to the lifetime and annual 
monetary caps on the child/family's 
insurance policy. 
Cost-sharing is covered by county and state. 
 
May have visit limitations but cannot 
reduce number of services otherwise 
available under the plan (e.g., if the policy 
covers 10 visits of physical therapy, and the 
county is reimbursed for 10 visits of 
physical therapy used for the purposes of 
early intervention, the child/family will 
continue to have 10 visits available for 
health care purposes - such as services 
required after surgery or an accident). 

§ 3235-a. 

VA Available to infants and toddlers that are 
eligible for Part C of the IDEA.  
Occupational Therapy 
Speech Therapy 
Physical Therapy 
Assistive Technology Services and Devices 
 
In order for these services and devices to 
be covered, they must be listed on the 
child’s IFSP and they must meet the 
medically necessary requirements of the 
benefit. 

Requires coverage of Part C services up to 
$5,000 annually and exempts these costs 
from counting against any lifetime caps in a 
family's policy. 
 

Effective July 1, 
1998, the Code 
of Virginia 
§38.2-3418.5  
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It is possible that some of the services provided as early intervention services will be included 
as EHB under the category of habilitative services. Rhode Island may consider maintaining this 
mandate until a final ruling regarding EHB is made by HHS.  Depending on whether early 
intervention services are included as an EHB, and to what extent, the State may want to 
reconsider this mandate, balancing the overall benefits of this mandate with the impact of the 
mandate on insurance premiums as well as the direct state cost for providing this coverage with 
for individuals purchasing subsidized coverage through HealthSource RI.   
 
Cost Impact:  BCBSRI estimated in 2013 that the cost impact of the early intervention services 
mandated equaled $0.27 pmpm.75  The estimate here jumps slightly to $0.29 pmpm when 
inflated for 2014.  Although Rhode Island has a broader mandate with no age limit, 
Connecticut’s cost estimate is the same as that of BCBSRI, while Massachusetts reports a much 
higher cost of $0.89 pmpm.   

Enteral Formula 
 
Since 2009, Rhode Island has required insurers to provide coverage of non-prescription enteral 
formulas, up to $2,500 per year, for treatment of malabsorption caused by specific diseases 
including Crohn’s disease, ulcerative colitis, gastroesophageal reflux, chronic intestinal pseudo-
obstruction, and inherited diseases of amino acids and organic acids.76   Examples of non-
prescription enteral nutrition77 products include Ensure, Isosource and Boost.  It is seen as a 
medically effective service, particularly for those with Crohn’s disease.  

Several states have mandates related to foods and formulas for medically necessary metabolic 
disorders78, but many are quite different than Rhode Island’s mandate.  Massachusetts mandate 
is the same as Rhode Island, although as shown in Table Six below, Massachusetts had more 
recently updated the annual limit for coverage.  Given the prohibition on annual limits within 
the ACA, Rhode Island insurers have modified their implementation of this mandate by 
removing the annual limit. The cost impact of removing the annual limit is not consequential. 

Table Six:  States With Similar Enteral Formula Mandates  

 State Mandate Coverage Limit Statutory Citation 

CT Includes provisions of low calorie foods as 
well as specialized formulas for those with 
inherited metabolic diseases. Formulas are 
only available to children under age 12.  

n/a 38a-4921 

DE Must include coverage for medical 
formulas and foods and low protein 
modified food products for the treatment of 
inherited metabolic diseases, if such 
products are medically prescribed as 
medically necessary for the therapeutic 

n/a 18S 3571 

                                                           
75

 Note that this estimate assumes no annual limit to early intervention services.  
76

§ 27-20-56 
77

 Enteral nutrition is also known as “tube-feeding” and is used when an individual cannot take food 
orally. 
78

 CAHI reports 33 states in addition to Rhode Island with this category of mandates.  Health Insurance 
Mandates in the States 2012, Council for Affordable Health Insurance (CAHI) 2013. 
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 State Mandate Coverage Limit Statutory Citation 

treatment of inherited metabolic diseases 
and administered under the direction of a 
physician  

MA Requires coverage for nonprescription 
enteral formulas for home use when 
medically necessary for the treatment of 
mal-absorption caused by Crohn’s disease, 
gastro-esophageal reflux, gastrointestinal 
motility, chronic intestinal pseudo-
obstruction, and inherited diseases of 
amino acids and organic acids.  

$5000 (increased limit from 
$2500 in 2008) 

c. 175 sec 47I; c. 
176A sec 8L; c. 
176B sec 4K; c. 
176G sec 4D; c. 32A 
sec 17A 

MD Mandatory coverage of medically necessary 
low protein, modified medical food 
products 
  

n/a  15-807 

MT Must cover treatment of inborn errors of 
metabolism, including clinical services, 
medical supplies, prescription drugs, 
nutritional management and medical foods. 

Durational limits, caps, 
deductibles, coinsurance & 
copayments may apply of 
terms same as other illness. 

MCA Sec 32-22-131 

NJ Must cover low protein modified food 
product formulated to have < or = to 1 
gram of protein per serving used under 
physician direction to treat inherited 
metabolic disease; and medical food to treat 
disease of condition with established 
nutritional needs to be taken enterally 
under physician direction 

 C.17B:26-2.1o 
(individual)  
C17B:27-46.1r 
(group) 

 

Requiring insurers to provide enteral formula eases the cost burden of appropriate nutrition for 
a small subset of individuals with little impact to the overall premium.  The exclusion of enteral 
formula from the EHB will not likely impose a significant cost burden to the State for 
individuals receiving subsidized coverage through HealthSource RI. 
 
Cost Impact:  BCBSRI reports an estimated premium impact of $0.01 in 2010, which inflates to 
$0.02 pmpm in 2014.  BCBSRI’s estimates fall within the range seen in other states – with a low 
of no additional premium cost in Maryland to $0.29 pmpm in Connecticut.  

Hearing Aids  

Rhode Island mandates coverage of hearing aids every three years, with a coverage limit of 
$1500 per ear for individuals under age 19 and $700 per ear for individuals 19 and older.79 
Because of the ACA prohibition for annual limits on EHB services, this mandate is changed to a 
$700/$1,500 maximum per hearing aid, per ear, with no time limit.  In addition to covering 
hearing aids as mandated, BCBSRI also provides coverage for cochlear implants in its 
commercial coverage. 
 

                                                           
79

§ 27-20-46); enacted 1/1/06.  
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Hearing aids for children potentially fall within the EHB category of pediatric care.   There is no 
EHB category that would similarly require coverage of hearing aids for adults. In addition to 
Rhode Island, there are 19 other states with hearing aid mandates.80  As shown in Table Seven, 
most require coverage only for children, or cover adults into their early 20s.  Only Arkansas and 
New Hampshire also require coverage of hearing aids for adults.  Medicare does not include 
hearing aids within its benefit package. There is significant literature that hearing is an 
important part of a child’s development.  Into adulthood, there is no question of the importance 
of hearing as a key communication tool in every part of our lives.  
 
Table Seven: Select State Hearing Aid Mandates  
 
 State Children’s 

Ages 
Adults 
Covered 

Devices 
Included 

Dollar Limit How 
Often 

Note 

AR No limit Yes Hearing 
Aid 

$1400 per ear Every 3 
years 

Insurer must offer as an 
optional rider; if 
employer elects, then 
must provide to 
employee (Arkansas 
Code Ann. Sec 23-19-
1401) 

CT 12 and 
under  

No Hearing 
Aid 

$1000 Every 2 
Years 

Classifies hearing aids as 
DME 
(Sec 38a-490b) 

CO Under 18 No Hearing 
Aid  

n/a Every 5 
years 

May be sooner if new 
hearing aid needed b/c 
alternations to existing 
one can’t meet child’s 
needs (Colorado Rev. 
State. Sec 10-16-104) 

DE Under 24 
(as long as 
dependent) 

No Hearing 
Aid 

$1000 per ear Every 3 
years 

18 Sec 3357 

MA Under 21 No Hearing 
Aid  

$2000 per ear Every 3 
years 

Law explicitly excludes 
cochlear implants (ch. 
32A sec 23; ch. 175 sec 
47U; ch. 176A sec 8U; ch. 
176B sec 4U; ch. 176G sec 
4n0)  

MD Under 18 No Hearing 
Aid 

$1400 per ear Every 3 
years 

15-838 

MN Under 18 No Hearing 
Aid 

n/a Every 3 
years 

Limited to hearing loss 
due to congenital 

                                                           
80 Health Insurance Mandates in the States 2012, Council for Affordable Health Insurance 

(CAHI) 2013.  See also American Speech-Language-Hearing Association; State Insurance 

Mandates for Hearing Aids; accessible at:  

http://www.asha.org/advocacy/state/issues/ha_reimbursement/ 

 

http://www.asha.org/advocacy/state/issues/ha_reimbursement/
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 State Children’s 
Ages 

Adults 
Covered 

Devices 
Included 

Dollar Limit How 
Often 

Note 

malformation not treated 
but other covered 
services 
(Minn stat.  sec 62Q.675) 

NH No limit Yes Hearing 
Aid 

$1500 per 
hearing aid 

Every 5 
years 

NH Stat Ann. sec 415-6p; 
sec 415:18-u 

NJ 15 and 
under  

No Hearing 
Aid 

$1000 per ear Every 2 
years 

Must be medically 
necessary and prescribed 
by physician or 
audiologist (a number of 
states require this) 
(17B:26-2.1aa; 17B:27-
46.1gg; 17B:27A-7.14; 
17B:27a-19.180 

NM Under 18 No Hearing 
Aid 

$2200 per ear Every 3 
years 

Will cover until under 
age 21 if still in school 
;(13-7-10; 59A-22-34.5; 
59A-23-7.8; 59A-46-38.5; 
59A-47-37.10 

WI Under 18 No Hearing 
Aid; 
Cochlear 
Implants 

n/a Every 3 
years 

Sec 609.86; Sec 
632.895(16) 

 

It is not clear whether the final EHB rules will include a requirement of providing hearing aids 
for children, and no EHB category is likely to include hearing aids for adults.  Rhode Island 
should review the final ruling by HHS regarding EHBs to fully understand the potential for this 
benefit to be reduced or eliminated by insurers without the State mandate, and the cost 
implications to the State of continuing this mandate, both to the cost of insurance premiums in 
the State and direct costs to the State of providing this benefit to individuals receiving 
subsidized coverage through HealthSource RI.  
 

Cost Impact:  BCBSRI estimates that the cost of providing hearing aids to both adults and 
children was $0.11 in 2010.  Inflated to 2014, the current pmpm attributable to this mandate is 
$0.14.81  This estimate is understandably higher than that in Connecticut ($0.01), Massachusetts 
($0.04) and Maryland (no premium impact) where Rhode Island is the only one of those four 
states to also require provision of hearing aids to adults.   

Home Health 
 
Rhode Island requires health insurers, except for BCBSRI, to provide home health services when 
medically necessary to reduce the length of a hospital stay or to delay or eliminate an otherwise 

                                                           
81

 It is important to note that although the changes made to this mandate to accommodate the ACA are 
not expected to affect costs, the 2010 estimate was made before such changes were made.       
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medically necessary hospital admission.82  The mandate provides that minimum home health 
care coverage shall not exceed six home or office physician's visits per month, and shall not 
exceed three nursing visits per week and will provide for home health aide visits up to twenty 
(20) hours per week.  Home health services can include a broad range of health care and 
supportive services in the home including physical or occupational therapy as a rehabilitative 
service, respiratory service, speech therapy, medical social work, nutrition counseling, 
prescription drugs and medication, medical and surgical supplies, such as dressings, bandages, 
and casts, minor equipment such as commodes and walkers, laboratory testing, x-rays and 
E.E.G. and E.K.G. evaluations. 
 
Home health services are typically used by individuals that are recovering from illness or 
injury, the disabled, or those with a chronic or terminal illness.83  Allowing for home health 
services can both delay the need for long term care or other institutional care and allow for a 
quicker transition from a hospital back to a home setting. Estimating the clinical effectiveness of 
home health care is challenging however because of the variety of services delivered under as a 
home health service.  Research has shown that the provision of well defined, quality home 
health care services can provide significant clinical benefits. Studies have found a reduction in 
mortality and admissions to hospitals with  the provision of home health services. 8485 Other 
studies have documented a decrease in the rate of decline of functional status.86 
 
Nearly half of the states require some home health services.87   A sample of other states’ home 
health mandates are included as Table Eight.  
 
Table Eight:  Select State Home Health Mandates  

State Service How Often Note 

CA “Home health care” means the continued care and 
treatment of an insured person who is under the 
direct care and supervision of a physician but only if 
(i) continued hospitalization would have been 
required if home health care were not provided, (ii) 
the home health treatment plan is established and 
approved by a physician within 14 days after an 
inpatient hospital confinement has ended and such 

100 visits in any 
calendar year or in 
any continuous 12-
month period for 
each person 
covered under the 
policy. A visit of 
four hours or less 

May be subject to 
an annual 
deductible of not 
more than $50 for 
each person 
covered under a 
policy, and may be 
subject to a 

                                                           
82

§  27-18-3 
83 Visiting Nurses Associations of America, Home Health Care. Accessed 7/3/2011:  
http://vnaa.org/vnaa/g/?h=html/homehealthcareoverview.html 
84

 Elkan R, Kendrick D, Dewey M, Hewitt M, Robinson J, Blair M, et al. Effectiveness of home based support for 
older people: systematic review and meta-analysis. BMJ. 2001 Sep 29;323(7315):719-25.  
85 

Hyde CJ, Robert IE, Sinclair AJ. The effects of supporting discharge from hospital to home in older people. Ageing. 
2000 May; 29(3):271-9. 
 
86

 Mann WC, Ottenbacher KJ, Fraas L, Tomita M, Granger CV. Effectiveness of assistive technology and 
environmental interventions in maintaining independence and reducing home care costs for the frail elderly. A 
randomized controlled trial. Arch Fam Med. 1999 May-Jun;8(3):210-7.   
http://www.orcatech.org/papers/home_monitoring/99_Mann_effectiveness_of_envrionmental_interventions.pdf 
87

 CAHI reports that 20 states in addition to Rhode Island have a home health mandate.  Health Insurance 
Mandates in the States 2012, Council for Affordable Health Insurance (CAHI) 2013. 
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State Service How Often Note 

treatment plan is for the same or related condition 
for which the insured person was hospitalized, and 
(iii) home health care commences within 14 days 
after the hospital confinement has ended. “Home 
health services” consist of, but shall not be limited to, 
the following: (i) part-time or intermittent skilled 
nursing services provided by a registered nurse or 
licensed vocational nurse; (ii) part-time or 
intermittent home health aide services which 
provide supportive services in the home under the 
supervision of a registered nurse or a physical, 
speech or occupational therapist; (iii) physical, 
occupational or speech therapy; and (iv) medical 
supplies, drugs and medicines prescribed by a 
physician and related pharmaceutical services, and 
laboratory services to the extent such charges or costs 
would have been covered under the policy if the 
insured person had remained in the hospital. 
 

by a home health 
aide shall be 
considered as one 
home health visit. 

coinsurance 
coverage of not less 
than 80 percent  

CT Home health care including (1) part-time or 
intermittent nursing care and home health aide 
services; (2) physical, occupational, or speech 
therapy; (3) medical supplies, drugs and medicines; 
and (4) medical social services.  

Coverage can be 
limited to 80 visits 
per year and for 
terminally ill, no 
more than $200 for 
medical social 
services 

Coverage can be 
subject to an 
annual deductible 
of no more than $50 
and a coinsurance 
of no less than 75%, 
except that a high 
deductible plan 
used to establish a 
medical savings 
account is exempt 
from the deductible 
limit. 

MA No group medical benefits contract shall be 
delivered or issued or renewed for delivery by an 
insurance company, to any group of persons in this 
Commonwealth and no employees health and 
welfare funds shall be promulgated or renewed to 
any group of persons in this Commonwealth unless 
persons covered under such group contract or fund 
will be eligible for benefits for expenses arising from 
the provisions of home care services. As used in this 
subdivision, the words Services shall include, but not 
be limited to, nursing and physical therapy. 
Additional services such as occupational therapy, 
speech therapy, medical social work, nutritional 
consultation, the services of a home health aide and 
the use of durable medical equipment and supplies 
shall be provided to the extent such additional 
services are determined to be a medically necessary 
component of said nursing and physical therapy. 
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State Service How Often Note 

Benefits for home care services shall apply only 
when such services are medically necessary and 
provided in conjunction with a physician approved 
home health services plan. 

MD Mandatory home health care coverage for enrollees 
who would have otherwise required 
institutionalization  

40 visit per year up 
to 4 hours per visit 

 

PA Mandatory coverage for a medically necessary home 
health care visit within 48 hours after a mastectomy. 
40 P.S. s 1583:  

  

VT Insurers shall provide optional coverage for home 
health care. The coverage shall consist of at least 40 
visits by a home health agency in any calendar year, 
or in any continuous period of 12 months, for each 
person covered under the policy or contract. Each 
visit by a member of a home health care agency, 
other than a home health aide, shall be considered 
one home health care visit, and four hours of home 
health aide service shall be considered one home 
health care visit. Coverage shall be provided for 
maternity and childbirth, but such coverage may be 
provided subject to a waiting period of nine months. 
Coverage may be subject to a co-insurance provision 
of not less than 80 percent of reasonable charges and 
a deductible provision of $50.00 annually; however, 
if less restrictive benefits are provided by the basic 
hospital or medical coverage, as the case may be, 
these lesser restrictions shall apply to the home 
health care coverage. 
(Added 1975, No. 205 (Adj. Sess.), § 1.) 

  

 
While home health services are not specifically included within a category of EHBs, some 
habilitative services can be provided as home health services.  It is likely that insurers would 
continue to provide these cost-effective services even without a mandate.  There is no 
significant difference between fully-insured and self-insured plans regarding this benefit 
provision suggesting that it is cost-effective and clinically relevant.  The State will need to 
review the final HHS ruling on EHBs to determine whether these services are included and, to 
the extent they are not, balance the benefit of providing home health services with the premium 
impact of including these services, as well as the potential direct cost to the State for paying for 
this benefit for individuals who receive subsidized coverage through HealthSource RI.  Given 
that home health services are often used as individuals’ transition between care settings, the 
State cost of providing these services may be significant if home health is not included as an 
EHB.  
 
Cost Impact:  Rhode Island insurers did not provide a cost estimate of the home health 
mandate.  However, the cost of a home health mandate was estimated in Connecticut, 
Massachusetts and Maryland and ranged from a low of $0.45 in Maryland in 2012 to a high of 
$7.39 in Massachusetts in 2009.  It is important to note, however, that there are significant 
differences among the states regarding service provision and visit limits for this benefit.  
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Importantly, Massachusetts law does not limit the number of visits at all.  Although the 
methodology calls for using Massachusetts estimates whenever possible, for this particular 
mandate it may more accurate to use the estimate provided for Connecticut which is $1.79 
pmpm.  Although the exact description of visits and limitations also are different between 
Connecticut and Rhode Island, the “no limit” provision in Massachusetts law has significant 
cost implications which, if used to estimate Rhode Island’s costs, would unduly increase the 
estimated cost impact of this mandate. 

Human Leukocyte-Antigen Testing 

Rhode Island is one of five states88 that require insurers to cover one human leukocyte antigen 
testing per lifetime,89 which is utilized to identify A, B, and DR antigens for use in bone marrow 
transplants and to identify potential matches.90 Enacted in 1998, the mandate requires that 
testing be performed in an American Association of Blood Banks (or its successors) accredited 
facility that is licensed under the Clinical Laboratory Improvement Act, 42 U.S.C. § 263a.  

As shown in Table Nine below, all of the states with this mandate use similar language to that 
within Rhode Island’s statute.  The mandate assists individuals in need of bone marrow 
transplants by paying for testing of potential donors for a match.  Without the payment of the 
testing, a potential donor may not undergo the test and will not be discovered.  While California 
does not have a mandate requiring insurers to provide for testing, the state does mandate the 
employers provide a paid leave and health coverage when an employee is absent due to 
providing bone marrow for a transplant.91 

Table Nine: Antigen Testing for Bone Marrow Transplants 

State Services Included Dollar Limit Statutory Citations 

CT Effective January 1, 2012, requires coverage of 
expenses arising from human leukocyte antigen 
testing, also referred to as histocompatibility locus 
antigen testing, for A, B and DR antigens for 
utilization in bone marrow transplantation. 

Cost-sharing cannot be 
more than 20% of the cost 
of the testing.  Policies may 
limit individuals to one test 
per lifetime.  
 

http://www.cga.ct.gov/
2011/fc/2011HB-05032-
R000821-FC.htm 
 

MA Mandates coverage for the cost of human leukocyte 
antigen testing or histocompatibility locus antigen 
testing necessary to establish bone marrow 
transplant donor suitability. Such coverage is 
required to cover the costs of testing for A, B, or DR 
antigens, or any combination thereof, consistent 
with the guidelines, criteria, and rules or regulations 
established by the Department of Public Health. 

Mandate does not require 
insurers to cover costs 
associated with donor 
recruitment.   

http://www.mass.gov/o
cabr/business/insurance
/doi-regulatory-info/doi-
regulatory-
bulletins/2001-doi-
bulletins/2001-doi-
bulletins-15.html 

MO Language nearly identical to Rhode Island’s. 
Requires coverage of cost of antigen testing for A, B, 

Limits cost of 
reimbursement for testing 

http://www.moga.mo.g
ov/statutes/C300-

                                                           
88

 The CAHI report does not include this as a mandated benefit; it is possible that there are more states 
then the five we identified with this mandate. 
89

 This testing is also referred to as histocompatibility locus antigen testing. 
90

 § 27-20-36 
91

 California Labor Codes Section 1508 through 1512. The requirement applies to employer with 15 or 
more employees.  

http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/fc/2011HB-05032-R000821-FC.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/fc/2011HB-05032-R000821-FC.htm
http://www.cga.ct.gov/2011/fc/2011HB-05032-R000821-FC.htm
http://www.moga.mo.gov/statutes/C300-399/3760001275.HTM
http://www.moga.mo.gov/statutes/C300-399/3760001275.HTM
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State Services Included Dollar Limit Statutory Citations 

or DR antigens.  Requires informed consent by 
individual being tested. 

to $75. 399/3760001275.HTM  

NH Requires insurers to provide coverage to NH 
residents and who meet criteria for testing as 
established by the Match Registry (the National 
Marrow Donor Program), coverage for laboratory 
fee expenses up to $150 arising from human 
leukocyte antigen testing, also referred to as 
histocompatibility locus antigen testing, for 
utilization in bone marrow transplantation. Requires 
testing to be performed in a facility that is accredited 
by the American Association of Blood Banks or its 
successors, or the College of American Pathologists, 
or its successors, or any other national accrediting 
body with requirements that are substantially 
equivalent to or more stringent than those of the 
College of American Pathologists, and is licensed 
under the Clinical Laboratory Improvement Act of 
1967, 42 U.S.C. section 263a, as amended. Requires 
informed consent.  

Limits cost of 
reimbursement for testing 
to $150; no cost-sharing is 
allowed. 

http://www.gencourt.sta
te.nh.us/rsa/html/XXXV
II/415/415-6-m.htm 
 

 

This service is unlikely to be contained in any final rules regarding EHBs. If the mandate 
remains outside of the EHB, the State would need to consider whether to keep the mandate not 
only in terms of the impact on the monthly premium, but also on the direct cost to the State of 
providing this benefit for those who receive subsidized coverage through HealthSource RI, even 
if it is likely to be minimal.  
 
Cost Impact:  BCBSRI estimated that the cost of HLA testing was $0.03 in 2010.  When inflated 
to 2014 dollars the estimated cost impact of this mandate is $.0.04 pmpm.  Massachusetts’ cost 
estimate is somewhat lower, at $0.0049 in 2009. 
 
Infertility Services 
 
Rhode Island law requires insurers to provide coverage for diagnosis and treatment of 
infertility for married women age 25-42 who have been unable to conceive or sustain pregnancy 
for two years.92   Under the law, co-insurance cannot be more than 20 percent and insurers can 
place a lifetime limit of $100,000 on the benefit.  Because the ACA prohibits the use of lifetime 
limits of an EHB in Base-Benchmark plans, qualitative limits are being used instead.  “BCBSRI’s 
approach includes substituting the $100,000 lifetime maximum with a maximum number of in-
vitro fertilization cycles that would be substantially equivalent to the dollar maximum.” 93 
Practically, this change equates to 8 cycles per lifetime which is “substantially equivalent” to the 
lifetime maximum contained in the Base-Benchmark plan.  Including Rhode Island, 15 states 

                                                           
92

§ 27-20-20; the mandate was initially enacted in 1989 and was most recently amended in 2006. 
93

 BCBSRI Insurance filing.   

http://www.moga.mo.gov/statutes/C300-399/3760001275.HTM
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XXXVII/415/415-6-m.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XXXVII/415/415-6-m.htm
http://www.gencourt.state.nh.us/rsa/html/XXXVII/415/415-6-m.htm
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have mandates regarding infertility services,94 although each state’s mandate is unique and 
some are quite limited, as shown in Table Ten.  Infertility services are not covered by state 
Medicaid programs.  
 

 
 
 
Table Ten:  State Infertility Service Mandates 

                                                           
94

 Health Insurance Mandates in the States 2012, Council for Affordable Health Insurance (CAHI) 2013; 
see also http://www.resolve.org/family-building-options/insurance_coverage/state-coverage.html. 
95

 GIFT and ZIFT are alternative treatments that are similar to IVF except that eggs and sperm are placed 
in the fallopian tube either together (ZIFT) or separately (GIFT) instead of being implanted directly in the 
uterus as occurs with IVF.   WebMD description of assisted reproduction, accessible at: 
http://www.webmd.com/baby/healthtool-assisted-reproduction.  

State Women’s 
Age 

Mandated Services Dollar or 
Service 
Limitation 

Note 

AR No limit Insurers that provide maternity 
benefits must also cover in vitro 
fertilization (IVF), including 
cryopreservation.  Other infertility 
treatment may also be included at 
the insurer’s option.  HMO’s are 
exempt from the law.  

IVF procedures must be 
performed at a facility licensed or 
certified by the state and conform 
to the American College of 
Obstetricians and Gynecologists’ 
(ACOG) and the American Society 
of Reproductive Medicine (ASRM) 
guidelines.  

Limits preexisting condition to 12 
months.  

 

$15,000 lifetime 
max; cost-
sharing 
allowed at 
same level as 
other maternity 
benefits.  

Law exempts HMOs. 

To receive services, there must be at 
least a 2-year history of 
unexplained infertility OR the 
infertility must be associated with: 
endometriosis; DES exposure; 
blocked or surgically removed 
fallopian tubes that are not the 
result of voluntary sterilization; or 
abnormal male factors contributing 
to the infertility. The patient’s eggs 
must be fertilized with her spouse’s 
sperm.  

Prior to receiving IVF, the patient 
must show that has been unable to 
obtain successful pregnancy 
through any less costly infertility 
treatments covered by insurance.  

CT Under 40 Limits coverage for IVF, GIFT, 
ZIFT95 and low tubal ovum 
transfer to individuals who have 
been unable to conceive or sustain 
a successful pregnancy through 
less expensive and medically 
viable infertility treatment or 
procedures, unless the individual’s 
physician determines that those 

Lifetime 
maximum 
coverage of 4 
cycles of 
ovulation 
induction;         
3 cycles of 
intrauterine 
insemination.  

Infertility means the condition of a 
presumably healthy individual who 
is unable to conceive or sustain a 
successful pregnancy during a one-
year period.  
 
Limits coverage to individuals who 
have maintained coverage under a 
policy for at least 12 months. 

http://www.resolve.org/family-building-options/insurance_coverage/state-coverage.html
http://www.webmd.com/baby/healthtool-assisted-reproduction
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treatments are likely to be 
unsuccessful.  

Requires infertility treatment or 
procedures to be performed at 
facilities that conform to the 
American Society of Reproductive 
Medicine and the Society of 
Reproductive Endocrinology and 
Infertility Guidelines.  

 

2 cycles of IVF, 
GIFT, ZIFT or 
low tubal 
ovum transfer, 
with not more 
than 2 embryo 
implantations 
per cycle. Each 
fertilization or 
transfer is 
credited as a 
cycle towards 
the maximum.  

 
Religious organizations are exempt. 

IL Not 
specified 

Group insurers and HMOs that 
provide pregnancy related 
coverage must provide infertility 
treatment including, but not 
limited to: diagnosis of 
infertility; IVF; uterine embryo 
lavage; embryo transfer; artificial 
insemination; GIFT; ZIFT; low 
tubal ovum transfer.  

Coverage for IVF, GIFT and ZIFT 
is provided if the patient has been 
unable to attain or sustain a 
successful pregnancy through 
reasonable, less costly, infertility 
treatments covered by insurance.  

The procedures must be 
performed at facilities that 
conform with ACOG and ASRM 
guidelines.  

Each patient is 
covered for up 
to 4 egg 
retrievals. 
However, if a 
live birth 
occurs, two 
additional egg 
retrievals will 
be covered, 
with a lifetime 
maximum 
of six retrievals 
covered.  

 

Infertility means the inability to 
conceive after one year of 
unprotected sexual intercourse or 
the inability to sustain a successful 
pregnancy. 

LA n/a The law does not require insurers 
to cover fertility drugs, IVF or 
other assisted reproductive 
techniques, reversal of a tubal 
ligation, a vasectomy, or any other 
method of sterilization.  

n/a Prohibits the exclusion of coverage 
for the diagnosis and treatment of a 
correctable medical condition, 
solely because the condition results 
in infertility. 

MD Not 
specified 

Individual and group insurance 
policies that provide pregnancy-
related benefits must cover the 
cost of 3 IVFs per live birth.  
 

 Lifetime 
maximum of 
$100,000. 

History of infertility for 2 years or 
associated with: endometriosis; DES 
exposure; blocked or surgically 
removed fallopian tubes; abnormal 
male factors contributing to the 
infertility.  

The patient’s eggs must be fertilized 
with her spouse’s sperm.  

The patient has been unable to 
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obtain successful pregnancy 
through any less costly infertility 
treatments covered by insurance.  

Employers with <50 or religious are 
exempt 

MA No age 
specified 

All insurers providing pregnancy-
related benefits shall provide for 
the diagnosis and treatment of 
infertility including: artificial 
insemination; IVF; GIFT; sperm, 
egg and/or inseminated egg 
procurement and processing, and 
banking of sperm or inseminated 
eggs, to the extent such costs are 
not covered by the donor’s insurer, 
if any; ICSI; ZIFT.  

Insurers shall not impose any 
exclusions, limitations or other 
restrictions on coverage of 
infertility drugs that are different 
from those imposed on any other 
prescription drugs.  

No limit  Infertility means the condition of a 
presumably healthy individual who 
is unable to conceive or produce 
conception during a period of one 
year 

NY 21-44 Group policies must provide 
diagnostic tests and procedures 
that include: 

 hysterosalpingogram;  
 hysteroscopy;  
 endometrial biopsy;  
 laparoscopy;  
 sono-hysterogram;  
 post coital tests;  
 testis biopsy;  
 semen analysis;  
 blood tests and  
 ultrasound  
 Every policy that provides 

for prescription drug 
coverage, shall also 
include drugs (approved 
by the FDA) for use in the 
diagnosis and treatment of 
infertility.  

 

 Prohibits the exclusion of coverage 
for the diagnosis and treatment of a 
correctable medical condition, 
solely because the condition results 
in infertility.  

The law abides by the ASRM 
definition of infertility -- the 
inability to achieve a pregnancy 
after trying for 12 months (if under 
35) and 6 months (if over 35).  

Patients must be covered under 
their insurance policy for at least 12 
months before receiving infertility 
coverage.  

Excludes coverage for IVF, GIFT, 
and ZIFT; reversal of elective 
sterilizations; sex change 
procedures; cloning or 
experimental medical or surgical 
procedures. 

TX Not 
specified 

Requires group insurers to offer 
coverage of IVF. Employers may 
choose whether or not to include 
infertility coverage as part of their 

No limit Coverage is for the policyholder or 
spouse; and the patient’s eggs must 
be fertilized with her spouse’s 
sperm.  The patient and spouse 
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It is very difficult to measure the effectiveness of infertility mandates.  While it is one of the 
highest cost mandates, it also provides a service that would otherwise be very expensive for 
couples to afford on their own.   

employee health benefit package.  

If an employer chooses to offer the 
benefit, the IVF procedures must 
be performed at medical facilities 
that conform to ACOG and ASRM 
guidelines. 

must have a history of infertility of 
at least five continuous years or 
associated with endometriosis, DES, 
blockage of or surgical removal of 
one or both fallopian tubes or 
oligospermia; and the patient has 
been unable to attain a pregnancy 
through less costly treatment 
covered under their policy; 

Religious employers are exempt 

NJ Under 46 Group insurers and HMOs that 
provide pregnancy related 
coverage must provide infertility 
treatment including, but not 
limited to: 

 artificial insemination;  
 assisted hatching;  
 diagnosis and diagnostic 

testing;  
 fresh and frozen embryo 

transfers;  
 4 completed egg retrievals 

per lifetime;  
 IVF, including IVF using 

donor eggs and IVF where 
the embryo is transferred 
to a gestational carrier or 
surrogate;  

 ICSI;  
 GIFT;  
 ZIFT;  
 medications;  
 ovulation induction; and  
 surgery, including 

microsurgical sperm 
aspiration.  

 
The procedures must be 
performed at facilities that 
conform with ACOG and ASRM 
guidelines.  
 

No limit Infertility means a disease or 
condition that results in the 
abnormal function of the 
reproductive system such that: a 
male is unable to impregnate a 
female; a female under 35 years of 
age is unable to conceive after two 
years of unprotected sexual 
intercourse; or one year if the 
female is 35 years of age and 
over; the male or female is 
medically sterile; or the female is 
unable to carry a pregnancy to live 
birth.  
 
Infertility does not mean a person 
who has been voluntarily sterilized 
regardless of whether the person 
has attempted to reverse the 
sterilization.  
 
The patient has been unable to 
obtain successful pregnancy 
through any less costly infertility 
treatments covered by insurance. 
Employers with fewer than 50 and 
religious employers are exempt 
 
Cryopreservation is not covered.  
 
Nonmedical costs of egg or sperm 
donor are not covered.  
 
Infertility treatments that are 
experimental or investigational are 
not covered.  
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Given its high impact on premiums and the potential large cost to the State of providing this 
coverage to those who receive subsidized coverage through HealthSource RI, the State will 
want to undertake a delicate calculation of the benefits of providing infertility services balanced 
with the real impact of continuing to mandate this benefit on the State budget.  In addition, 
given the evolving science of infertility services, it is important for the State to continually 
review the mandate to ensure that it appropriately includes evidence-based treatments.  
 
Cost Impact:  As noted above, infertility mandates vary significantly from state to state as do the 
estimated costs.  The average pmpm estimates provided by BCBSRI and Neighborhood Health 
Plan of Rhode Island were used and inflated to 2014 dollars.  Based on that calculation, it is 
estimated that the infertility mandate costs $1.29 pmpm in Rhode Island.   

Lyme Disease 
 
Rhode Island is one of three states that mandate insurers to provide coverage for diagnostic 
testing and long-term antibiotic treatment of chronic Lyme disease when determined medically 
necessary and ordered by a physician in accordance with Chapter 37.5 of Title 5 (Lyme Disease 
Diagnosis and Treatment).96   The mandate further prohibits insurers from denying treatment 
solely because it may be characterized as unproven, experimental or investigational in nature. 

Lyme disease is spread through bacteria received from tick bites.  Lyme disease is common in 
New England and other areas where there are large deer populations.97  Each of the three states 
has a slightly different mandate.  Connecticut’s is more restrictive than Rhode Island’s in that it 
includes limits on treatment, without further physician recommendation.  Minnesota is broader 
in that is covers treatment generally; it is not limited to prescription drugs. Connecticut and 
Minnesota also mandate coverage of treatment of Lyme disease as described in Table Eleven 
below.  

Table Eleven:  Lyme Disease Mandates in CT and MN 

 State Mandate Effective 
Date 

Notes 

CT Requires coverage for Lyme disease 
treatment including not less than 30 days of 
intravenous antibiotic therapy, 60 days of 
oral antibiotic therapy, or both, and requires 
further treatment if recommended by a 
board certified rheumatologist, infectious 
disease specialist or a neurologist licensed in 
accordance with Chapter 370. (sec 38a-492h)  

January 
2000  

Has specific limits on initial 
provision of benefits; but overall 
requires the benefits to continue as 
long as needed if medically 
necessary.  

MN Requires every health plan to cover 
treatment for diagnosed Lyme disease  

1996 This is a broad mandate that allows 
for any necessary Lyme disease 
treatment; it is not exclusive to 
prescription therapies.  (62A.265) 

 

                                                           
96

 § 27-20-48; enacted in 2004.  
97

 See Center for Disease Control (CDC), Reported cases of Lyme disease by state or locality- 2002-2012; 
accessible at: http://www.cdc.gov/lyme/stats/chartstables/reportedcases_statelocality.html 

http://www.cdc.gov/lyme/stats/chartstables/reportedcases_statelocality.html
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The State will need to weigh the costs and benefit of this service if it is not included in the final 
ruling by HHS regarding EHB resulting in the State needing to fully fund the costs of the 
benefit for individuals receiving subsidized coverage through HealthSource RI. 
 
Cost Impact:  BCBSRI calculated the impact of the Lyme Disease mandate at $0.02 pmpm in 
2010.  Inflated to 2014 dollars, the expected impact of this mandate on premiums in Rhode 
Island increases slightly to $0.03 pmpm.  This is significantly lower than Connecticut’s 2014 
estimate of $0.34 pmpm.   
 

Off-label Prescription Cancer Drugs  
 
First enacted in 1994, Rhode Island mandates that insurers cover off-label use of prescription 
drugs for treatment of cancer, even if the drug has not been approved by the FDA for that 
purpose, if the drug is recognized for treatment for a particular condition in standard reference 
compendia or the medical literature.98  Prescribing physicians may be required to submit 
documentation supporting the proposed off-label use or uses at the insurer’s request.  The 
mandate further states that the insurer must cover any other medical services associated with 
the administration of the drug.  Nothing in the mandate prevents cost sharing for these drugs.  

Nearly two-thirds of the states have similar mandates.99  In some states, the mandate includes 
the convening of an expert group to determine if the off-label use of a particular drug is 
appropriate.   
 
The State may want to maintain this mandate as there is nothing similar in federal law requiring 
off-label use of prescription drugs.  However, in making a final decision on whether to maintain 
this mandate, it is important to consider that if it is not included as part of the EHB, then the 
State would be required to cover the full cost of the mandate for anyone receiving subsidized 
coverage through HealthSource RI.  Given the high estimated pmpm in Connecticut, this is one 
area where Rhode Island may consider conducting its own actuarial analysis of the cost of the 
mandate to identify a more exacting estimate of the State’s potential costs.  
 
Cost Impact:  Rhode Island insurers did not provide estimates of the cost of this mandate.  
Connecticut did provide an estimate of $3.48 pmpm in 2014, and for purposes of providing the 
Legislature with a sense of the impact of this mandate, the same estimate is used for Rhode 
Island.  
 
Prostate Screening 
 
Enacted in 2000, Rhode Island mandates coverage for prostate screening and laboratory tests for 
cancer for any non-symptomatic covered individual, in accordance with the current American 
Cancer Society guidelines.   Nearly two thirds of the states (35) require coverage of prostate 
cancer screenings. Like Rhode Island, many of these states specifically tie their mandate to 
American Cancer Society Guidelines.  
 

                                                           
98

 § 27-55-2. 
99

 Health Insurance Mandates in the States 2012, Council for Affordable Health Insurance (CAHI) 2013. 
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Most state laws require annual coverage of prostate screenings for men ages 50 and over and for 
high-risk men, ages 40 and over.100  Prostate cancer is common and a frequent cause of cancer 
death. Prostate cancer is second only to non-melanoma skin cancer and lung cancer as the 
leading cause of cancer and cancer death, respectively, of men in the United States. The lifetime 
risk of developing prostate cancer is 16 percent, but the risk of dying of prostate cancer is only 
2.9 percent. Prostate cancer grows slowly and often is detected in autopsies of men that die of 
other causes before the cancer becomes clinically evident.  In fact, prostate cancer is detected in 
autopsies of one-third of men under the age of 80 and in two-thirds of older.101 

PSA testing revolutionized prostate cancer screening. Although PSA was originally introduced 
as a tumor marker to detect cancer recurrence or disease progression following treatment, it 
became widely adopted for cancer screening by the early 1990s for men 50 and older. Prostate 
cancer screening is controversial because evidence suggests that detecting prostate cancer early 
may not reduce an individual’s chance of dying from prostate cancer, and may instead lead to 
overtreatment of tumors that are not life threatening which may lead to both harmful side 
effects of the treatment and potential complications.  In addition, the PSA test may give either 
false-positive or false-negative results, creating unnecessary anxiety and unnecessary 
biopsies.102  

While the ACA requires coverage of preventive health services with no cost sharing for all 
USPSTF recognized preventive services, prostate cancer screening is not included.  The absence 
of prostate cancer on the list is due to the Task Force’s conclusion that the screening is not 
evidence-based and leads to unnecessary treatment of prostate cancer in many men.103  Rhode 
Island should monitor the ongoing debate as to the appropriateness of prostate screenings to 
determine whether this mandate can continue to be considered evidence-based, and if so, how 
to balance that benefit with the potentially significant impact to premiums and directly to the 
State of providing this service to individuals receiving subsidized coverage through 
HealthSource RI.  
 
Cost Impact: Rhode Island insurers did not conduct a specific cost estimate for the prostate 
screening mandate.  Both Connecticut and Maryland have conducted cost estimates for prostate 
screening.  Maryland’s estimate was $3.16 pmpm in 2012, which is much higher than 
Connecticut’s estimate of $0.11 for 2010, which if inflated to 2014 dollars using national 
estimates totals $0.14 pmpm.  For purposes of this report, it is estimated that the impact to the 
premium based on Connecticut’s experience is $0.14 pmpm.  Given the ongoing debate about 
efficacy of prostate screening, it is important to note here that these cost estimates do not 
include any additional medical costs that may occur based on false positives or unnecessary 
treatment of prostate cancer.  

Second Surgical Opinions 
 

                                                           
100

 High risk refers to African-American men and/or men with a family history of prostate cancer. 
101

 See American Cancer Society, Key Statistics About Prostate Cancer; accessible at 
http://www.cancer.org./cancer/prostatecancer/detailedguide/prostate-cancer-key- statistics   
102

 See National Cancer Institute, PSA Test Fact Sheet, accessible at: 
http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/factsheet/detection/PSA.  
103

 Ibid.  

http://www.cancer.org/
http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/factsheet/detection/PSA
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Under Rhode Islands’ second surgical opinion mandate, a policy that covers surgical operations 
must also cover a second surgical opinion, regardless of whether the surgery is performed on an 
inpatient or outpatient basis.104  For the service to be covered, the individual must notify the 
insurer prior to seeking the second surgical opinion and may be limited to specific physicians 
approved by the insurer.  

There are nine states in addition to Rhode Island that require second surgical opinions105, a 
sample of which are described in Table Twelve.  In addition to state mandates, Medicare and a 
number of state Medicaid programs provide coverage for second surgical opinions for non-
emergency services and other procedures.   

There are limited data showing that second opinions save dollars by preventing unnecessary 
surgeries.106   The Choosing Wisely campaign recently put a renewed focus on second surgical 
opinions with its release of a list of surgeries that may be potentially unnecessary and the 
importance of obtaining a second opinion prior to common surgeries such as back surgeries, 
cardiac surgery for angioplasty, stents or pacemakers, hip and knee replacements, and 
hysterectomies.107  

Table Twelve: State Second Surgical Opinion Mandates 

 State Services Included 

CA At request of insured or contracting health professional, plan that covers hospital, medical, or 
surgical expenses must authorize a second opinion by an appropriately qualified health care 
professional. Reasons for a second opinion to be provided or authorized shall include, but are 
not limited to, the following: (1)If the insured questions the reasonableness or necessity of 
recommended surgical procedures; (2)If the insured questions a diagnosis or plan of care for a 
condition that threatens loss of life, loss of limb, loss of bodily function, or substantial 
impairment, including, but not limited to, a serious chronic condition; (3)If clinical indications 
are not clear or are complex and confusing, a diagnosis is in doubt due to conflicting test results, 
or the treating health professional is unable to diagnose the condition and the insured requests 
an additional diagnosis; (4)If the treatment plan in progress is not improving the medical 
condition of the insured within an appropriate period of time given the diagnosis and plan of 
care, and the insured requests a second opinion regarding the diagnosis or continuance of the 
treatment; (5)If the insured has attempted to follow the plan of care or consulted with the initial 
provider concerning serious concerns about the diagnosis or plan of care. 
 
 (c)If an insured or participating health professional who is treating an insured requests a second 
opinion pursuant to this section, an authorization or denial shall be provided in an expeditious 
manner. When the insured’s condition is such that the insured faces an imminent and serious 
threat to his or her health, including, but not limited to, the potential loss of life, limb, or other 
major bodily function, or lack of timeliness that would be detrimental to the insured’s life or 
health or could jeopardize the insured’s ability to regain maximum function, the second opinion 
shall be rendered in a timely fashion appropriate to the nature of the insured’s condition, not to 

                                                           
104

 § 27-39-2 
105

 Health Insurance Mandates in the States 2012, Council for Affordable Health Insurance (CAHI) 2013. 
106

 See, for example, Ruchlin HS, Finkel M and McCarthy EG, The efficacy of second-opinion consultation 
programs: a cost-benefit perspective.  Med Care, 1982 Jan,20(1):3-20.  
107 Why you should get a second opinion before getting surgery, USA Today, June 19, 2013, accessible at: 
http://www.usatoday.com/story/news/nation/2013/06/19/surgery-second-opinion-
interactive/2439275/ 
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 State Services Included 

exceed 72 hours after the insurer’s receipt of the request, whenever possible. Each insurer shall 
file with the Department of Insurance timelines for responding to requests for second opinions 
for cases involving emergency needs, urgent care, and other requests by July 1, 2000, and within 
30 days of any amendment to the timelines. The timelines shall be made available to the public 
upon request. 
(d)If an insurer approves a request by an insured for a second opinion, the insured shall be 
responsible only for the costs of applicable copayments that the insurer requires for similar 
referrals. 
(e)If the insured is requesting a second opinion about care from his or her primary care 
physician, the second opinion shall be provided by an appropriately qualified health care 
professional of the insured’s choice who is contracted with the insurer. 
(f)If the insured is requesting a second opinion about care from a specialist, the second opinion 
shall be provided by any provider of the same or equivalent specialty, of the insured’s choice, 
within the insurer’s provider network, if the insurance contract limits second opinions to within 
a network. 
(g)The insurer may limit second opinions to its network of providers if the insurance contract 
limits the benefit to within a network of providers and there is a participating provider who 
meets the standard specified in subdivision (b). If there is no participating provider who meets 
this standard, then the insurer shall authorize a second opinion by an appropriately qualified 
health professional outside of the insurer’s provider network. In approving a second opinion 
either inside or outside of the insurer’s provider network, the insurer shall take into account the 
ability of the insured to travel to the provider. 
(h)The insurer shall require the second opinion health professional to provide the insured and 
the initial health professional with a consultation report, including any recommended 
procedures or tests that the second opinion health professional believes appropriate. Nothing in 
this section shall be construed to prevent the insurer from authorizing, based on its independent 
determination, additional medical opinions concerning the medical condition of an insured. 
(i)If the insurer denies a request by an insured for a second opinion, it shall notify the insured in 
writing of the reasons for the denial and shall inform the insured of the right to dispute the 
denial, and the procedures for exercising that right. 
(j)If the insurance contract limits health care services to within a network of providers, in order 
for coverage to be in force, the insured shall obtain services only from a provider who is 
participating in, or under contract with, the insurer pursuant to the specific insurance contract 
under which the insured is entitled to health care service benefits. 
(k)This section shall not apply to any policy or contract of disability insurance that covers 
hospital, medical, or surgical expenses and that does not limit second opinions, subject to all 
other terms and conditions of the contract. 
(l)This section shall not apply to accident-only, specified disease, or hospital indemnity health 
insurance policies. 

MD Health insurers must cover a second opinion when required by a utilization review program, 
and must provide outpatient coverage for a service for which a hospital admission is denied.  

MO 1. A health maintenance organization shall allow enrollees to seek a second medical opinion or 
consultation from the health maintenance organization's choice of other primary care physicians 
and specialty physicians at no additional cost to the enrollee beyond what the enrollee would 
otherwise pay for an initial medical opinion or consultation.  
2. If an enrollee chooses to seek a second medical opinion, and if the health maintenance 
organization does not employ or contract with another physician with the expertise necessary to 
provide a second medical opinion, then the health maintenance organization shall arrange for a 
referral to a physician with the necessary expertise to provide a second opinion or consultation 
and ensure that the enrollee obtains the covered benefit at no greater cost to the enrollee than if 
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 State Services Included 

the benefit were obtained from participating physicians.  
NJ Payment for second surgical opinion services 

A second surgical opinion program shall provide for payment for the second surgical opinion 
services of an eligible physician and for essential laboratory  and X-ray services incidental 
thereto, either as a benefit under the group  policy or, at the insurer's option, by a separate 
arrangement with the group  policyholder.  The program may be limited to eligible physicians 
who have agreed to participate in the insurer's second surgical opinion program.  If the benefits 
are provided by the group insurance policy, the amount shall be reasonably related to amounts 
payable under the group policy for covered surgical procedures. 
- See more at: http://statutes.laws.com/new-jersey/title-17b/section-17b-27/17b-27-46-
4#sthash.UJxQcnny.dpuf 

NY 1. A second surgical opinion by a "qualified physician", as that term is used in the law, requires 
the opinion be given by a board certified specialist who by reason of his specialty is an 
appropriate physician to consider the surgical procedure being proposed. The original 
recommendation for surgery must be given by the insured's surgeon, who need not be board 
certified or by another board certified specialist. 
2. The obtaining of the second surgical opinion must be at the option of the insured, except that 
in group and master group cases a mandatory program may be considered for approval by the 
Department. 
3. The benefit of a second surgical opinion by a qualified physician on the need for surgery shall 
be applicable to all in-patient surgical procedures of a non-emergency nature covered by the 
policy. The benefit shall be payable only if the patient is examined in person by the physician 
rendering the second surgical opinion and a written report is submitted to the insurer. 
4. The second surgical opinion can be rendered by a board certified specialist selected from a 
panel of specialists designated by the insurer or the insurer may provide the insured a list of 
board certified specialists in the area, or, refer the insured to the local Medical Society, local 
chapter American College of Surgeons, County Health Department or hospital for a list of board 
certified specialists. 
5. If a board certified specialist renders a second surgical opinion and also performs the surgery, 
no second surgical opinion benefit will be payable under the contract. 
6. The benefit payment for the second surgical opinion should be an amount which is 
reasonably related to the amounts payable under the policy for covered surgical procedures and 
may include reimbursement for ancillary services, such as x-rays and laboratory tests. 
7. The second surgical opinion benefit shall be added to all new and existing policies and 
contracts as required by the law without a premium increase. The anticipated savings in 
hospital and medical costs payable by the insurer should more than offset the cost of the second 
surgical opinion program. 
8. Insurers should collect and maintain experience data concerning the second surgical benefit, 
including at least a tabulation of cases confirmed and not confirmed for surgery, so that an on-
going evaluation of the program can be made by the insurer and the Insurance Department. 

WV Each managed care plan must, upon the request of an enrollee, provide access by the enrollee to 
a second opinion regarding a diagnosis or treatment plan requiring a serious or complex 
procedure, from a qualified participating provider. 

 
Given that it seems as if this provides a benefit to consumers and saves insurers from paying for 
unnecessary surgeries, Rhode Island should consider maintaining this as a mandated benefit 
regardless of whether it is ultimately included as part of the EHB. 
 
Cost Impact:  No cost estimates could be found for this mandated benefit although significant 
research suggests that the cost more than pays for itself.  
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Cranial Prostheses (Wigs) 
 
Under Rhode Island law, if a policy covers any other prosthesis it must also provide coverage 
for expenses for scalp hair prosthesis (wigs) worn for hair loss suffered as a result of the 
treatment of any form of cancer or leukemia.108  Coverage is limited to $350 per covered 
member per year, exclusive of any deductible.  Because the ACA prohibits annual limits on an 
EHB in a Base-Benchmark Plan, BCBSRI changed its handling of this benefit by including a $350 
maximum for each prosthesis.  Changing the mandate in this manner is not expected to add any 
additional costs. 
 
Alopecia (hair loss or baldness) is a side effect of some cancer treatments, including 
chemotherapy and radiation.  Hair loss is often the most severe side effect of chemotherapy, 
negatively affecting the quality of life for many cancer patients.109   
 
In addition to Rhode Island, nine states also have a similar mandate; a sample of these 
mandates is included in Table Thirteen.110 Like Rhode Island, most other states limit coverage 
for hair loss due to cancer or cancer treatment and have coverage of $350.  New Hampshire and 
Oklahoma provide broader coverage, requiring coverage of wigs for other diseases as well as 
hair loss related to cancer treatment.   
 
Table Thirteen: State Mandated Coverage of Wigs  
 

 State Services Included Dollar or Service 
Limitation 

Note 

CT Coverage for wig worn for hair 
loss caused by chemotherapy 
treatment. 

Yearly benefit of at 
least $350 

Prescribed by licensed oncologist 

DE Coverage for wigs that are 
medically necessary due to 
alopecia aerate 

Yearly benefit of 
$500 

Same limitations as other prostheses 

MA Coverage for scalp hair 
prostheses worn for hair loss 
caused by the treatment of any 
form of cancer or leukemia,  

$350 maximum per 
year 

Subject to same limitations and 
guidelines as other prostheses 
 
Only required if the policy provides 
coverage for any other prostheses  
 
Treating physician states in writing 
that hair prostheses are medically 
necessary 

MD Coverage for one hair prosthesis 
worn for hair loss caused by 
chemotherapy or radiation 
treatment for cancer 

May not exceed $350  

                                                           
108

 § 27-20-54; enacted in 2007. 
109

 American Society of Clinical Oncology, Hair Loss or Alopecia, accessible at 
http://www.cancer.net/navigating-cancer-care/side-effects/hair-loss-or-alopecia  
110

 Health Insurance Mandates in the States 2012, Council for Affordable Health Insurance (CAHI) 2013. 
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 State Services Included Dollar or Service 
Limitation 

Note 

MN Coverage for scalp hair 
prostheses for hair loss caused 
by alopecia areata 

$350 per benefit year 
maximum 

Subject to cost-sharing requirements 
that apply to similar items under 
the policy 

NH Coverage for scalp hair 
prostheses worn for hair loss 
caused by alopecia areata, 
alopecia totalis or alopecia 
medicamentosa resulting from 
the treatment of any form of 
cancer or leukemia or 
permanent scalp hair loss due to 
injury 

$350 annual 
maximum for 
alopecia 
medicamentosa 

Treating physician must determine, 
in writing, that it is medically 
necessary.  Only required if policy 
covers other prostheses 
Subject to same annual deductibles, 
copayments or coinsurance limits 

OK Coverage for wigs or other hair 
scalp prostheses worn for hair 
loss caused by chemotherapy or 
radiation treatment for cancer 
and other conditions 

Up to $150 per year Subject to same annual deductibles, 
copayments or coinsurance limits as 
all other covered benefits 

 
The State will need to weigh the costs and benefit of this service if it is not included in the final 
ruling by HHS regarding EHB resulting in the State needing to fully fund the costs of the 
benefit for individuals receiving subsidized coverage through HealthSource RI.  
 
Cost Impact:  BCBSRI estimates the 2014 cost of providing this benefit is $0.05 pmpm.  
Maryland law only allows one hair prosthesis per lifetime and estimates the cost at $0.00pmpm 
while Massachusetts law is similar to Rhode Island with a 2009 estimate of $0.018.   
 

C. State Mandated Providers 
 
In addition to mandating certain health benefits, Rhode Island has enacted a number of laws 
generally requiring that insurers include certain types of providers within their networks and 
pay for their services.  As further detailed in Table Fourteen, these laws require insurers include 
osteopaths, first nurse assistants (in surgery), nurse practitioners and nurse psychiatrists, 
midwives, licensed marriage and family therapists and licensed mental health counselors, 
optician and ophthalmologists in their networks.  In addition, plans must include as an 
employer option the ability to include acupuncturists.  
 
In one case, the State mandates that a particular service be provided only by a particular 
provider type.  Specifically, the State requires that ABA services (discussed above as part of the 
autism mandated benefits), may only be provided by an ABA analyst or a psychologist. 
 
According to the insurers, these provider mandates typically have little overall impact on the 
growth of the premium, as they are often focused on providing benefits with lower cost 
professionals.  However, that may not always be the case and cannot be assumed.  Where 
available, estimated costs for these provider mandates are included in Table Fourteen.   
 
Table Fourteen:  Provider Mandates in Rhode Island 
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Provider Type Description of Service Statute Year 
Enacted 

Other 
States 
with 
Mandate 

PMPM 
Cost 
Estimate 

Acupuncturist Plans must offer 
services of a doctor of 
acupuncture services 
as provider of 
acupuncture services 
as an optional rider to 
a policy 

27-41-54 1999 12 $3.12 

Midwife Plans must provide 
coverage for the 
services of licensed 
midwives. 

27-41-36  2002 12 $0.29 

First Nurse 
Assistant 

Plans must cover 
services rendered by a 
registered nurse first 
assistant (assist in OR) 

27-20-35.1 2002 5 $0.04 

Licensed 
Marriage/Family 
Therapist 

Plans must provide 
coverage for the 
services of licensed 
therapists in marriage 
and family practice 

27-41-40 2002 17  

Nurse 
Practitioner 

Plans must provide 
coverage for services of 
certified nurse 
practitioner, practicing 
collaboratively. Nurse 
practitioner may be a 
primary care provider.  

27-41-39 2009 29  

Nurse 
(Psychiatric) 

Plans must provide 
coverage for services of 
psychiatric and mental 
health nurse clinical 
specialists, if would be 
paid for if provided by 
another provider and 
not duplicative 

27-41-39 2009 14  

Optician For any insurance plan 
calling for expenditure 
of public funds,111 
health plans must 

5-35.2-6 2008 2  

                                                           
111

 Because the language in the statute refers specifically to public funds, this statutory provision may 
require a technical correction to include HealthSource RI, where the mandate currently specifies 
Medicaid/RIteCare and Medicare. 
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Provider Type Description of Service Statute Year 
Enacted 

Other 
States 
with 
Mandate 

PMPM 
Cost 
Estimate 

allow opticians 
opportunity to apply 
for credentials and 
cannot be 
discriminated against 

Optometrist Cannot discriminate 
against an optometrist; 
if health plan provides 
service within an 
optometrists scope of 
practice must allow 
optometrist to provide 
that service 

40.1-3-15  40  

Osteopath (D.O) Cannot discriminate 
against an osteopath 

40.1-3-15  22  

Professional 
Counselor 

Plans must provide 
coverage for services of 
licensed counselors in 
mental health 

27-41-40  18  

Psychologist Autism services should 
be provided by an 
ABA analyst or a 
psychologist 

27-20-11 2012 43  

  
IV. Recommendations for Reviewing Rhode Island Mandates  
 
Unlike the majority of states, Rhode Island does not have a statutorily required process to 
review current or new mandates.  Today 29 states have processes in place for the systematic 
review of mandated health benefits.  Some states look prospectively at proposed mandates, 
while others look both at proposed mandates and retrospectively at current mandates to 
understand their impact.112   
 
Based on research of other state review processes, a set of criteria and a process to guide the 
State in its ongoing review of mandated benefits that incorporates the ACA’s Essential Health 
Benefits (EHB) requirements113, is recommended below.  This review also would consider 

                                                           
112

 California Health Benefits Review Program, Other States’ Health Benefit Review Programs; September 
20, 2013; accessible at 
http://www.chbrp.org/docs/Survey_and_Analysis_of_Other_States_Health_Benefit_Review_Programs
_2013_FINAL_092013.pdf 
113

 For 2014 and 2015, EHBs are state defined based on the state’s selection of a benchmark plan, and may 
also include state-mandated benefits to the extent included in the benchmark plan, whether or not they 
would fall into one of the essential health benefits categories.  When referring to EHBs here, however, we 
are referring to the ten categories of benefits included within the ACA.  This proposal assumes that the 

http://www.chbrp.org/docs/Survey_and_Analysis_of_Other_States_Health_Benefit_Review_Programs_2013_FINAL_092013.pdf
http://www.chbrp.org/docs/Survey_and_Analysis_of_Other_States_Health_Benefit_Review_Programs_2013_FINAL_092013.pdf
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proposed additional mandates in a manner that balances breadth of coverage with individuals’, 
employers’, and governments’ ability to afford that coverage. 
 
In July 2011, the Institute of Medicine (IOM) released recommendations to the Secretary of 
Health and Human Services for a framework for considering EHBs.  While not ultimately 
accepted by the Secretary, the recommendations provide a useful framework for considering 
mandated benefits within a state.114  Under the framework, the IOM recommended that benefits 
be looked at both specifically and in the aggregate, and that they be updated on an ongoing 
basis.  The IOM recommended that a target premium be set and the total package of proposed 
benefits be measured against that target.  In addition, the IOM laid out a number of principles 
to guide decision-making as summarized in Table Thirteen.  
 

Table 13: IOM Criteria for Defining and Updating EHB115  
 

Content of Specific EHB 
Services 

Content of the Aggregate EHB 
Package 

Defining and Updating the EHB 

 Be safe 

 Be medically effective and 
evidence-based 

 Demonstrate meaningful 
improvement over current 
services/treatments 

 Be a medical service, not 
primarily serving an 
educational or social function 

 Be cost-effective  

 Be affordable 

 Maximize the number of 
people with insurance 
coverage 

 Protect the most vulnerable 

 Encourage better care 
practices 

 Advance stewardship of 
resources by maximizing use 
of high-value services and 
minimizing use of low-value 
services  

 Address the medical 
concerns of the greatest 
importance to enrollees 

 Protect against the greatest 
financial risks due to 

 Be transparent – rationale for 
decisions should be publicly 
available 

 Be participatory – enrollees 
should have role in defining 
priorities for coverage 

 Uphold expectations of  
equity and consistence 

 Demonstrate sensitivity to 
value – the covered service 
must provide a meaningful 
health benefit 

 Respond to new information 

 Be attentive to stewardship 
of resources 

 Encourage innovation 

 Be data driven, i.e. based on 

                                                                                                                                                                                           
ten categories will be further defined over time to be consistent nationally.  However, given that this 
approach is not yet in place and may not be implemented, it will be important for Rhode Island to 
consider over time what the ultimate impact of EHBs is on Rhode Island’s review of state mandated 
benefits.  Also it is important to remember that the EHB construct is applicable in the individual and 
small group marketplace.  Until 2016, that includes employers with 50 or fewer employees.  Beginning in 
2016, it will include employers with 100 or fewer employees.  However, there will always be some fully 
insured employers with more than 100 employees or self-insured employees that are not required to meet 
the EHB requirements (though the insurance needs to be comprehensive enough to count as creditable 
coverage).  
114

 Ulmer, C; Ball, J; McGlynn E, and Bel Hamdounia, S; editors, Essential Health Benefits: Balancing 
Coverage and Cost; Committee on Defining and Revising an Essential Health Benefits Package for 
Qualified Health Plans, Board of Health Care Services, Institute of Medicine, National Academy of 
Science, 2012.   
115

 Table initially developed by KerriAnn Wells in earlier report.   See Wells, KerriAnn, Essential Health 
Benefits: Selecting and Supplementing a Benchmark Plan in Rhode Island, Prepared for the Office of the 
Health Insurance Commissioner, May 2012.  
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Content of Specific EHB 
Services 

Content of the Aggregate EHB 
Package 

Defining and Updating the EHB 

catastrophic events or 
illnesses 

objective clinical evidence 
and actuarial reviews 

 
With this framework in mind, the State should implement a standardized process both for (i) 
ongoing review of its existing state mandated health benefits and provider mandates 
(retrospective review) every three years and (ii) initial review of proposed mandated benefits 
and proposed provider mandates (prospective review), that considers the impact of each 
mandate individually and in terms of the impact of mandates on the aggregate benefit package.  
Ideally the retrospective review would be completed within the next year with an eye towards 
helping to inform HHS regarding its EHB decision-making before new EHB criteria are 
established by CMS for 2016 plans.  Rhode Island has an opportunity now to establish its own 
version of Essential Health Benefits that fits the needs of Rhode Island, rather than deferring to 
the federal government’s perspective of what is good public policy in Rhode Island. In addition, 
based on the findings above, it is recommended that the initial retrospective review focus on the 
three mandates that are not included within EHB that have the highest estimated cost – off label 
prescription drug use, home health services and infertility services.   
 
Prospective reviews should be completed within six months of referral of a pending mandate to 
OHIC.  Allowing for both prospective and retrospective review on an ongoing basis provides 
the State with a process that combines the strength of estimating a proposed impact up front, 
while also evaluating the specific and cumulative impact of an individual mandate and a set of 
mandates.  It is important that this proposed process be codified in State legislation.  
 
Key Principles of Mandates 
In considering whether the State should mandate specific benefits, four key principles can guide 
the review process as follows: 
 

 Mandated benefits should, to the extent possible, be consistent with practices in the self-
insured market (particularly State and municipal employee coverage) and the Medicaid 
program  

 Mandated benefits should be based on medical evidence 

 Mandated benefits should consider the cost impact; including both the impact of having 
or not having the benefit from the perspective of the State, payers and consumers 

 Mandated benefits should not duplicate federal mandated benefits 
 
Designated Reviewer 
Having a designated reviewer responsible for ongoing retrospective mandate reviews and 
review of proposed mandates is a key component of any mandated benefit review process.  
Typically, designated reviewers are either a state agency or a commission brought together for 
the review of benefits. 116  Under either approach, the designated reviewer would be responsible 
for engaging appropriate stakeholders in the mandate review process.  In Rhode Island, the 

                                                           
116 While most states designate a state agency with the responsibility for reviewing mandated benefits, a 
number of states utilize ongoing Commissions/Councils that are responsible for review of mandated 
benefits.  In those cases, the Commissions include state officials in their official capacity, as well as a 
variety of stakeholders.  
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responsibility for mandated benefit reviews would likely sit within OHIC.  As the State agency 
responsible for oversight of health insurance in the State, the responsibility to review mandated 
benefits and provide the Legislature with its findings and recommendations falls squarely 
within the role of OHIC. OHIC would also seek input from other state agencies, as appropriate. 
To ensure appropriate resources to fulfill this responsibility, the statute should provide OHIC 
with authority and funding to utilize an independent consultant and/or independent actuarial 
support to assist in analysis of mandated benefits where determined necessary by the OHIC 
Commissioner. 
 
To ease the burden on the State related to the cost of conducting reviews of mandated benefits, 
proponents or advocates of the particular benefit could be encouraged to provide specific 
documentation upon introduction of legislation to consider a mandate that describes why the 
mandate is needed, whether the mandate falls within a category of EHB, who the proposed 
mandate will help, and the estimated cost impact. OHIC should not be obligated to conduct its 
own review until it determines that complete documentation has been provided.  Under this 
approach, the State still will be required to conduct an independent review, but having some of 
the initial work done by the proponent should relieve the State of some burden associated with 
mandated benefits reviews.  
 
As part of OHIC’s independent review, OHIC shall be required to solicit input and feedback 
from stakeholders regarding the particular mandated benefit and the impact of adding another 
mandate to the required benefit package as a whole.  At a minimum, stakeholders should 
include consumers, payers (State and insurers), relevant provider groups, and other state 
agencies.  Stakeholders should also be consulted for retrospective reviews. Where appropriate, 
advocates of a particular existing mandate should be given the ability to provide evidence in 
support of continuing the specific mandate.  
 
Review Categories 
All proposed mandates and current mandates that are not squarely within an EHB category, or 
otherwise required by federal law, should be reviewed for medical efficacy, impact on cost, 
quality, providers, consumers and overall public health, as well as political considerations.  
Legislators may want to consider the inclusion of a sunset provision applicable to each exiting 
and newly enacted mandated requiring the law to be eliminated after three years unless a 
review provides evidence of its continued cost effectiveness and clinical relevance.  For current 
mandated benefits falling within an EHB category, a review may only be necessary if there is a 
specified need for such review.117  
 

Medical efficacy 
Given that the overall purpose of a mandated benefit is to ensure that consumers have 
access to appropriate medical care, it is essential that mandated benefits be medically 
effective.  In considering whether a mandated benefit meets medical efficacy standard, 
OHIC could consider: 

                                                           
117

 We make this recommendation as we believe that the state’s limited resources should be focused on 
review of mandated benefits over which the state can make a direct impact.  However, we do recognize 
that there may be occasion for a state to review an EHB in order to be part of a national policy debate and 
want to leave the opportunity for that to occur, as appropriate.  
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 whether treatment falls within an Essential Health Benefit; 

 the effect in prevention or treatment of disease or disability; 

 recognition by the medical community that the treatment is effective and 
efficacious; and; 

 demonstration of effectiveness by peer reviewed scientific literature. 
 
As part of the medical efficacy review, OHIC also should consider the overall impact of 
the mandate on the quality of care provided.  For reviews of proposed mandates, the 
impact of a mandate on the quality of care will be tied closely to the medical efficacy 
standards described above.  For retrospective review of current mandates, OHIC should 
look at available performance measurement data to determine the impact of a particular 
mandate on quality of care.  
 
Cost 
Another key aspect of review of a proposed or current mandated benefit is the impact of 
adding that benefit to the cost of insurance.  It is important to consider that the cost of 
each mandate on its own may be minimal (pennies per month) but in the aggregate 
mandates often have a substantial impact on insurance premiums. While the impact on 
the premium reflects the direct and indirect cost of the mandate, it also is important to 
consider other potential impacts in reviewing proposed or current mandates, including 
the economic cost of the disease.  
 
Specifically, when reviewing the cost of a mandate, the State should consider:  

 general cost of the mandate; 

 costs to specific stakeholders (consumers, insurers, employers and state, 
including whether the State will be liable for full cost of coverage for those 
individuals who receive subsidized coverage through HealthSource RI); 

 the impact of the mandate on total cost of care, and on administrative costs; 

 cost of not passing the mandate (substitute for more expensive treatment) and 
economic cost of the disease, where possible to determine (such as employment, 
education, jail recidivism);and 

 how the additional cost of the mandate would be funded (e.g., is there a 
corresponding premium savings or benefit reduction to offset any additional 
cost). 

 
For existing mandates, during retrospective review the State should obtain actual claims 
data from insurers to provide the actual cost impact of the mandate.   
 
Social Impact 
An important aspect of the review of any current or proposed mandated benefits is to 
understand how the mandate will impact consumers.  To that end, it is  recommended 
that OHIC’s review of mandated benefits include consideration of the impact of the 
mandate on utilization, demand for and availability of service, and the impact on such 
factors without the mandate.   
 
Specifically, OHIC’s review should include: 
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 Utilization, the impact of mandate on use of treatment (including potential to 
increase if proposed mandate, or actual impact if current mandate) 

 Insurance Coverage – that is, is this service typically already covered by 
employers, including self-insured?  

 Demand  for services – that is, how relevant is the mandate to Rhode Island 
given the prevalence of a particular disease in the State118  

 Availability – that is, are there providers in the State available to provide the 
particular service and how would the mandate impact the number and type of 
providers within the State? 

 Need 
o Whether there are alternatives to provide coverage 
o How does lack of coverage impact consumers’ ability to afford and 

receive care 
o Whether individuals are avoiding care because of lack of coverage 

 
Public Health  
The overall public health of its residents is a cornerstone responsibility of State 
government.  It is therefore important to ensure that any mandate review includes 
consideration of the impact of a mandate on the public’s health.  Specifically, mandate 
reviews should consider the impact of a current or proposed mandate on the State’s 
overall efforts to reduce morbidity and mortality across all sub-populations within 
Rhode Island as well as considering whether and how a mandate impacts health 
disparities.  

 
Legislative Oversight 
For both retrospective and prospective review of mandates, it is important to establish an 
effective process for communications between OHIC and the Legislature, and for oversight by 
the Legislature of OHIC’s review activities. If the Legislature decides to enact a provision for the 
sunset of existing mandates, OHIC should perform its analysis and report its findings and 
recommendations to the Legislature well in advance of the sunset date, so that legislators can 
fulfill their proper oversight role and responsibilities. 
Funding 
Conducting these retrospective and prospective mandate reviews will require additional 
resources in addition toOHIC staff.  It is important to address this factor at the start as many of 
the mandated benefits review programs in other states identify lack of financial resources and 
mandate bill variability as ongoing issues.119 
 
Given the lack of available general fund dollars, it is recommended that the State leverage the 
existing process of assessing health insurers for certain costs in order to fund these mandate 

                                                           
118

 For example, consideration of a Lyme disease mandate in Rhode Island is relevant where incidence of 
Lyme disease is higher in the Northeast, then compared to Colorado which has no confirmed cases of 
Lyme disease.  Center for Disease Control (CDC), Reported cases of Lyme disease by state or locality- 
2002-2012; accessible at: http://www.cdc.gov/lyme/stats/chartstables/reportedcases_statelocality.html  
119

 California Health Benefits Review Program, Other States’ Health Benefit Review Programs; September 
20, 2013.  
 

http://www.cdc.gov/lyme/stats/chartstables/reportedcases_statelocality.html
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reviews.  The existing line item in the budget for OHIC’s annual acturial expenses can be used, 
as the majority of the cost of the work to be done in reviewing current and proposed mandates 
is an actuarial analysis of the mandates’ costs.  In the process of developing actuarial estimates 
of those costs, it also will be necessary to conduct policy reviews of each of the mandates that 
should be funded through the same mechanism and line item.  This funding proposal is 
consistent with previously proposed State legislation that would fund mandated benefits 
review through an insurer fee.  
 
Draft legislation incorporating these recommendations is included for the Legislature’s 
consideration as Attachment One.  

 
V. Conclusion 
 
Rhode Island currently has one of the most comprehensive set of benefits requirements of any 
state in the country.  As shown in this report, the majority of the mandated benefits overlap 
with EHBs and/or federal mandates and are therefore required of individual and small group 
plans regardless of whether there is a State mandate.  The estimated cost of these mandated 
benefits equal $50.16 of a fully-insured premium, or approximately 11% of the average monthly 
small group premium in Rhode Island.  Likewise, most of the provider mandates within the 
State are focused on providing alternative providers that are typically of lower cost.   There are 
a small number of benefit mandates, however, that are potentially optional given the backdrop 
of the ACA.  These mandates equal an estimated $8.36 pmpm of a fully-insured premium, or 
approximately 2% of the fully-insured premium within the State’s small group market, with the 
off-label use of prescription drugs, infertility and home health mandates making up the 
majority of those costs. 
 
Conducting standardized reviews of proposed mandated benefits and reviewing the mandates 
as a whole every five years will provide the State with a greater understanding of the overall 
impact of mandates and will allow for a balancing of a particular mandate with the overall 
health policy goals of the State aimed at improving both the quality and efficiency of care.   
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Attachment One  
 

Draft Legislation 

1) Declaration: It is hereby declared that health benefits coverage, while providing 

important protection for consumers, is costly for individuals, businesses, and 

government employers and programs that pay for coverage.  Mandated benefits have 

public health, social, financial and medical implications for patients, providers and 

health plans.  It is in the public interest to authorize and require the Office of the Health 

Insurance Commissioner to conduct independent reviews of proposed and existing 

mandated benefits to provide the Legislature with adequate and independent 

documentation defining the social and financial impact and medical efficacy of 

proposed and existing mandates. 

 

2) Definitions: 

a. Carrier:  a insurance company, health service corporation, hospital services 

corporation, medical services corporation or health maintenance organization 

authorized to issue health benefit plans in Rhode Island.  

b. Commissioner:  The Commissioner of the Rhode Island Office of the Health 

Insurance Commissioner 

c. Mandated Health Benefit: a benefit that a carrier must provide as part of a health 

benefits plan based on Rhode Island law, unless the benefit it also required by 

federal law 

d. Mandated Provider: a provider type that a carrier must include as part of a 

health benefits plan network based on Rhode Island law, unless the provider 

mandate is also required by federal law 

 

3) Review of Mandated Benefits or Providers.   

a. The Commissioner shall review existing benefit or provider mandates 

(retrospective review), and proposed benefit or provider mandates (prospective 

review) in accordance with the process established in subsections (b) and (c) of 

this section, and in accordance with the review criteria set forth in subsection (d) 

of this section. 

b. Retrospective review process. 

i. The Commissioner shall conduct retrospective review of all existing 

benefit or provider mandates every three years, or three years following 

the enactment of an existing mandate, whichever comes later. 

ii. An existing mandate shall sunset 60 days following the Commissioner’s 

report to the Legislature recommending the sunset of the mandate, unless 

the Legislature re-enacts the mandate.   

iii. The Commissioner shall solicit information and comments from 

consumers, government and private-sector employers, relevant provider 
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associations, advocates for a particular mandate, other state agencies, 

including but not limited to EOHHS, DOH, BHDDH, DHS, the Lt. 

Governor’s Office and HSRI, and other individuals and entities with 

relevant information concerning the mandate under review. 

iv. The Commissioner may, at her or his discretion, conduct a focused report 

on any existing mandate at any time, based on new research on medical 

efficacy of a mandate, or significant change in social or financial impact. 

c. Prospective review process. 

i.  When any bill is introduced in the Legislature that would require a 

carrier to provide a mandated health benefit or require a health plan to 

include a specific provider type to be covered  the Chairperson of the 

Committee to which the bill is referred shall request the Commissioner to 

conduct an independent review of the proposed bill. The Commissioner 

shall conduct her or his review upon receipt by OHIC of adequate 

supporting documentation from the stakeholders seeking enactment of 

the bill, and upon a determination by the Commissioner that the 

supporting documentation is complete. 

ii. Any such legislation shall be accompanied by supporting documentation 

detailing the public health, social and financial impact of the proposed 

mandate and its medical efficacy.  If the proposed mandate will increase 

the cost of insurance premiums, the documentation must also include a 

proposal for how to the fund the increased cost. 

iii. The Commissioner shall solicit information and comments from 

consumers, government and private-sector employers, relevant provider 

associations, advocates for a particular mandate, other state agencies, 

including but not limited to EOHHS, DOH, BHDDH, DHS, the Lt. 

Governor’s Office and HSRI, and other individuals and entities with 

relevant information concerning the proposed mandate under review. 

iv. The Commissioner shall report his or her findings and recommendations 

to the committee with jurisdiction over the bill within six months 

following the Commissioner’s determination that the supporting 

documentation is complete. 

d. The Commissioner’s retrospective and prospective review must include a 

literature review and financial analysis, and must include consideration of 

stakeholder information and comments.  The Commissioner’s review shall 

include consideration of the following factors: 

i. Public Health, including:  

1. impact of mandate on State’s morbidity and mortality rates across 

sub-populations 

2. impact of mandate on health disparities 

ii. Social Impact, including: 
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1. Utilization, including: 

a. Impact of mandate on use of treatment  

b. Encouragement of mandate on consumer use of 

appropriate treatment/service 

2. Whether the mandate is typically covered by insurers in the State, 

including the self-insured  

3. How relevant is the mandate to Rhode Island given the 

prevalence of a particular disease in the State   

4. Whether there are providers in the State available to provide the 

particular service and how the mandate would impact the number 

and type of providers within the State; 

5. Whether there are alternative ways for consumers to obtain 

coverage 

6. If and how lack of coverage impacts consumers’ ability to afford 

and receive care 

7. Whether individuals are avoiding care because of lack of coverage 

8. Assessment of other states regarding coverage of the proposed 

mandated benefit and estimated costs, when available 

iii. Financial Impact, including: 

1. General cost of the mandate 

2. Costs to specific stakeholders, including but not limited to cost to 

individual consumers, governmental and private sector 

employers, and public programs.  

3. Impact of mandate on total cost of care, and on administrative 

costs 

4. Cost of not passing the mandate  

5. How the additional cost of the mandate would be funded  

iv. Medical Efficacy, including:  

1. Whether treatment falls within federally-defined  Essential Health 

Benefits 

2. Effect in prevention or treatment of disease or disability 

3. Recognition by the medical community as effective and efficacious 

4. Demonstration by peer-reviewed scientific literature 

5. Impact of service on overall quality of care provided 

v. The effects of balancing the social, financial and medical input. 

e.  The Commissioner may assess carriers for the cost of any review conducted 

under this Section, in accordance with RIGL § 42-14-10 (actuarial fund). 

 

Effective date. This act shall take effect on passage.  


